New Mystery Rug-LIW-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 2

I had a couple of hours of relaxing hooking time today and am having fun with this piece!    🙂

I am using up more leftover woolworms here too…but it is so much easier now that I have them more organized and have a LOT fewer of them!!!!!   …lol… 

I can’t remember when this sketch was drawn but I think it was a couple of years ago…sometimes I date my sketches and sometimes I just scribble on an old envelope or scrap of paper and it doesn’t get dated…!!!

Hooking on this scotch burlap is odd after my linen burlap as this has little lumps and what looks like tiny straw pieces in it…!!!   But this is a simple piece, and, as I said, it will be a wall piece…not on the floor!   (Might as well use up these smaller pieces for wall hangings, pillows and chairpads.)

I am deciding colours as I go on this one too so my stock of small pieces of wool is getting used a bit too…as well as the woolworms!

So here we go on Day 2…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂   (I’m sure you have it figured out already!!!!!)

LIWDay2 (2)

LIWDay2bb

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

6 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-LIW-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 2”

  1. Hi sunnie,,,, I havent figured it out yet,, love your colors though,,,, its good weather herein ontario to hook,,, still lots of snow and snowing again today,,, happy hooking ,,,,

    1. Hi Elaine…I always say that I haven’t figured it out yet either!!!!! …lol… At least you won’t have to wait 37 days to see this one!!!

      I loved winter in Vermont! I am glad, however, that I am not there this year. We are in the 50’s and 60’s here in Oregon!
      Without my husband, it would have been difficult to keep up with the snow buildup on our rural VT property.
      The new owners have the metal roof we put on the house so there is not a lot of snow buildup there…I hope they are safe and using the woodstove if they lose power at any time!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  2. I loved winters when we were in Vermont too, but am thinking just like you this year. Perhaps it is better we aren’t there. The snow doesn’t sound that bad just the awful sub-zero temps. You can’t fool around when it is -20 degrees and I worried about the vehicles, our animals and all the fuel we were using to heat the house when it got frigid for days on end.
    Exciting news is that we will be going to Victoria, BC in April and I hope to see Emily Carr’s paintings in the BC Museum while there. She took a few years off from painting to run a boarding house and ended up hooking rugs. A few of her original paintings are hooked rug patterns and she is now considered to be one of Canada’s outstanding artists. Interesting to see how her art transitioned into another media.
    Enjoy the daffodils!!
    Jo Anne

Leave a Reply

