New Mystery Rug-LIW-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5

Now today’s post will be absolutely thrilling!!!!!   …lol…   When I say that, you just know you are in for something rather “so-so”…at least for photo 1…!!!!   🙂

As I said, I am using several plaids and textures for this smaller piece background just to see what it will  look like!     (“No, NO”, you shout, “not more background!”)    …lol…

As you know, I am not fond of plain, flat backgrounds… although I certainly can admire the beautiful #3 cut hooking on those large, traditional floral rugs with the beige backgrounds and fine shaded flowers!

But I like experimenting with textured backgrounds and especially plaids!!!!!   So photo 1 is background (turned sideways so it doesn’t go down the page forever!!!)   Do you recognize the plaid…it is the one I used on the lettering for my “Rooster Today…” rug and for the scallops on the “Joy is a Bluebird Morning” rug.

The only thing I do Not like about this plaid wool is that it is not 100 per cent wool.   There is a synthetic in there that makes tearing it on the grain really tough!!!!!   That’s why I’m using it up and will get something that is all wool, if possible, for my next light plaid.

I decided to add some green and some yellow into the mix…(that green is a plaid!)… so have hooked that alongside the turquoise wool…I am still looking for more “Spring” colours…maybe some more pink and coral and…!!!

So here is Progress on Day 5…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

LIWDay5aLIWDay5b

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

5 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-LIW-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5”

  1. Love your progression every day,,, you are inspiring me to hook more everyday,,, love the background,,,, looks great,,,,, happy hooking

    1. Thank you, Elaine! I’m glad to have you with me on these little adventures!!! 🙂

      I find that even if I sit down and hook for only a short time, I really enjoy it…!!!

      Part of it is the joy of creation…seeing a vision for a mat or rug slowly come together. It doesn’t matter if it is a commercial pattern or one self-designed…we all put ourselves into the work!

      Even correcting mistakes is fun for me!!!! When I zip out the mistake and hook in the correction…I love to see how it works and makes everything OK once again!!!

      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  2. Try as I may, I still have no clue as to what your rug is but I know you have a chicken and I think maybe a sunflower or is that the nest?
    I’ll keep following this mystery just the same.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Yep…I have a chicken!!!!!!! …lol… And a lot of background..! 🙂
      And there is a flower…only I haven’t got to it all yet…!

      I am still loving all that beautiful wool you dyed…!!!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Thanks Sunnie. I love the mottled colors too and I usually try to get mottled colors.
        But this time I don’t know what I’m doing wrong but it seems to me that I read somewhere that the colors in the green don’t all absorb at the same rate, so that may be the problem.

        I love the mottled colors too but I was trying for a more uniform color.
        I did a bit of hooking today but not as much as I would have liked. I had some unfinished projects that needed to be tended to and hooking always takes the back seat.

        Hugs,
        Julia

Leave a Reply

