New Mystery Rug-LIW-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9

Hooray!!!   I am getting close to the finish line on this piece!!!   I like the experiment using the different light wools for the background…hooking it in sections!   Sometimes we want a background to be exciting…sometimes we want it to really “fade away” and let all the motifs come forward…and sometimes we want it to showcase the motifs, while adding more interest itself.   🙂

In this case, I simply want to have a background that is not simply a solid colour…but I don’t want it to overshadow anything either.   Just to be a quiet frame for the motifs.   Also, the two brown plaids for the borders read mostly as “solids”…but with a little extra colour change.

This is such a simple design…but it certainly reminds me of Spring!   And also of the cycle of life…as the months go by.   I’ve had fun looking for the spring colours in my leftovers and my small wool pieces… the mottled greens, the soft green-blue plaid and the mottled blue/turquoise wools are so restful to hook.

This piece will be finished in a day or 2…and I’ll go on to the next adventure!!!!!   …lol…

Here is Progress on Day 9-   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

LIWDay9

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-LIW-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9”

  1. Wow, your hook is going so fast, be careful you don’t set your wool on fire, ha, ha. This must be an easy one…I’m looking forward to seeing it too.
    Notice, i didn’t give you much guesses.

    I’m enjoying a warm spell here with sunshine.

    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

