Mystery “Ladies In Waiting” rug-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 11-FINISHED

BTW…below is the “Fowl Headache” mat I did for the Gallery show.   I believe it was purchased by a doctor!   I am planning more of these funny mats in a series of “Loopy Village Folks”!   🙂

fowl300

 

 

 

 

 

 

TODAY’S POST…

 

Here we go!!!   “Ladies In Waiting” was really fun to do with all the Spring colours!    🙂 

The 2 “new Moms” are almost ready for chicks and baby…both looking a little hopeful, I think!!!

 Although at 73 I am not “expecting” (!!!!!)… one of my Granddaughters is expecting her third child and my 9th great-grandchild soon…so I was thinking of family on this piece too!   (although my granddaughter does not walk around with a chicken on her head!!!)

I really enjoyed the experiment using many pale plaids and herringbones for the background on this.   I like it …and it gave me a chance to use some of my small cuts of wool.   and some woolworms too!   …lol…

This is not the first time I have done a piece with a chicken on the head of a woman!!!  (see [photo above)    For a Gallery show years ago I did one called “Yes, Doctor, A Really Fowl Headache” for a chicken-themed show!   …lol…

Hooray!!!!!…The NEXT “Mystery rug” will start tomorrow if I have time to get the pattern on backing today!!!!

So here is Progress on Day 11…with this rug Finished..!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

LIWDay11

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

8 thoughts on “Mystery “Ladies In Waiting” rug-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 11-FINISHED”

  1. A very cute lady in waiting rug… There I was, expecting some hens with hatching chicks, lol… You’re so funny Sunnie. Wow!!! You really did this one fast.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Thanks, Julia…those chicks are on the way!!!! 🙂 I’m sure the mama hen can hardly wait! …lol… and I know how I felt when I was a large as this little lady…waiting for my babies too!!!

      A small piece like this is so simple that it doesn’t take much time…and the Spring colours were soothing to use.
      Now on to the next adventure!!!! Hooray!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Wow, sunnie,,, you are really someone special! , CANT BELIEVE only 11 days!! Its great,, I absolutely love it, ,,, colors are great,,, you have a way with colors for sure,,!! Maybe now that sprjng is in the air here jn southern ontario,,, I will be inspired to finish up 3 projects, I have started and then just do one at a time!! Thanks , sunnie,,,, love it and your blog,,,, hope everything went ok at dentist,,,,

    1. Thank you, Elaine! These small pieces are great fun and take only a little time! I often work on several projects at once but I am enjoying doing -one-at-a-time- with some of my older rug designs! They go much faster than my last larger rugs! 🙂

      It’s fun for me to see what I scribbled 8 or 9 years ago as rug “ideas”! Have fun with your projects…I’m off on the next adventure, maybe starting tomorrow!!!! Hooray!!!

      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

    1. I loved doing the “Fowl Headache” mat for the show…! I’m designing more smaller pieces with plays on words, etc. for a series to do sometime soon!
      Thanks for coming along with me on these adventures!!! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

