March Mystery rug-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1

I am remembering when I sketched part of this piece…many years ago!!!   I was trying out different things at the time for a rug or rugs that shall remain nameless!   …lol…   I was trying out black backgrounds and light background, looking at a lot of  vintage illustrations, fraktur and sampler images and trying to find something that would have lots of colour!   🙂

I love this black wool…it is a tiny check that’s nicer than solid black!!!  

I have added some motifs and adjusted a few things and am starting this today!   It is the mystery “AGRD” rug…it is 25 x 33 inches at this time (I may adjust it later)…and I am hooking it with #3, #4, #5 and #6 mostly although I might use #8 for the border.   I don’t have to make that decision now!!

I have pulled out some wild colours and looked through some of my books on primitive florals and odd motifs just to see if I wanted to put them in.   This will be fun and not take too much thought and “pondering”!!!

Hooray…I’m off and running (hooking!!!) once again!   …lol…

I’m enjoying these smaller projects…so here we go!!!

Progress on Day 1…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AGRD-Day1

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “March Mystery rug-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1”

  1. Hi sunnie,,,, wowo,,, you are so quick,,,, your amazing!! And u call 25 by 33 smaller!!! I do smaller mats than that,,, but have done bigger ones jn the past,,, cant wait to see more of this one,,, love the colors already,,, are u still using up strips of cut wool, too??
    happy hooking,,, you are an inspiration for sure,,,,

    1. Hi Elaine…glad to have you with me on this next rug adventure!!! Well, I guess if I did 12 x 16 mats mostly 25 x 33 would be really big!!! …lol…

      The Ladies in W mat was quite small for what I usually do…but I’ve done several 24 x 24 inch mats for wall pieces and that format seems a really nice size. I was going to do the 24 x 24 for this one too…but couldn’t resist adding some stuff!!! 🙂

      Yes, I am still using up some leftover woolworms too…I might try for a small scrappy border if I think it will look good after I get more of the center done!!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  2. You sure don’t waste time coming up with ideas to design your rugs. You win the prize for the fastest turnover of rug hooking that I know.
    Looking forward to seeing this rug finished.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…well, as you know, I have no responsibilities except for caring for my elderly cat…!!! …lol… So I can do things faster than those living a more “normal” life!!! 🙂
      I have to go and take a nap just Reading about all you and your family do…so it is a miracle that you have any time to hook and do your beautiful work!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

