March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5

Another quick post…I’m off to get a haircut..!!!   🙂

Adding some more colours and some more quirky motifs!!!   I am hooking part of the light background in a dark cream along with the lighter vanilla already shown as background.   Just thought a change would be fun…we’ll see if it works when I get more done!!!!   The lighter is a texture, the darker cream a stripe!   I think you can see the difference in the photos.

Also adding some orange…a very nice mottled wool…!

So here is Progress on Day 5…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

AGRD5AGRD5bAGRD5c

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

7 thoughts on “March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5”

  1. Sunnie,,, loking at your mat everyday really gives me hope spring is coming! Your bright colors are wonderful,,, enjoying this very much,,,,

  2. Glad to hear it, Elaine!! You all have been “wintered” pretty hard this year…so I hope a delightful Spring comes soon for you!

    We hardly had any winter here…but that is not all good news as we need the water and the snow pack to keep things from getting too dry in the summertime!!!

    This rug is fun for several reasons…not only for the happy colours but for the memories of my first years and first drawings for rugs back in 2005 or even a bit before that!!! They were certainly simple drawings but I was into #8 cut simple and primitive rugs then!!!
    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  3. Looking good! Can’t wait to see the final version.
    Do you dye your own colors or do you purchase it from somewhere? I like Dorr in general for all sorts of things but it’d be nice to order from some place out here now that I’m here.
    Don’t know about you but we had 2″ of rain, all day and night long, over the weekend. Our water supply for summer should look a bit better now, though we are nowhere near like California or the Southwest.
    Happy hooking.

    1. Hi Jo Anne..

      I’m having fun with this one!!!
      .I used to dye my own wool and yarn… I brought a lot of both dyed and off-the-bolt from Vermont with me. I also sold my hand-dyed wool at a shop in Newport, VT (Quilters Quisine). Brenda carried some rug hooking wools and supplies for us. 🙂

      However, since I am now in an apartment, I am not sure if I will be doing any dying in the crockpot.

      .I might try casserole dying in the oven later on, when I need to have some more hand-dyed wool! (or go to my daughters and do it on her back porch in a crockpot..!!!)

      I buy some h-d wools from “Sun and Wind” farm on Etsy or on their website…wonderful wools. Also, there are great sellers of small amounts of hand-dyed wool on Ebay.

      When I go to the Hookity Do Dah in Ridgefield, WA in May, I buy some wool there or at any other gathering where there are vendors as I like to support them.

      WE got that rain too…and it is sprinkling here today! Thankful for the rain as we’ll need it in the summer!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  4. So you use a crockpot. Great idea. I was lucky enough to “inherit” a sizeable stash from a friend but I’m beginning to feel like I need more, even though I probably don’t!
    Raining here a little today too. We’ll be happy about it come summer.
    Will also check out Sun and Wind too.
    Thanks for the tips!

  5. Sorry I’m late Sunnie, I was under the weather like they say. A bad reaction to medication.
    Your Spring rug gives me hope for Spring as we’ve had two days of stormy weather. So much snow again…. A barn cat gave birth to kitten so Spring is really on the way… only i don’t need more cats. haha.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Wow, Julia…I am glad you are OK!!!! 🙂

      One of my sisters-in-law had a med reaction too… to a supplement she was taking! Sent her to the hospital…it is scary!!! (she’s ok now too)

      You have really been hit with the snow and cold this year…I will be glad to see your lovely pictures of Springtime and Summertime flowers at your place once again!!!!

      Happy Hooking!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

