March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 6

 

Filling in more background…!!!   And using leftover woolworms for this first scallop!!!   Second photo shows the second “leftovers” scallop, more border and some other little motifs!!!   🙂

I’m not sure if it is my allergies from all the “blooming” going on here in Oregon or if I am starting a Spring cold…(!!!) but I have been doing some sneezing and feeling tired for the last couple of days!   However, maybe it is just wool dust and old age!!!!!    …lol…

Had a strange dream last night…parking a small car by a yellow-painted curb, going into an Antique shop with a stroller (no baby!), looking through Christmas decorations and old clock parts and ending by sitting beside a nice policeman, asking him if he would find me a key to my car so I could move it before the police came because I had left my purse in the stroller and did not remember where I left the stroller…!!!!        (He was watching his wife sitting at a table sorting dishes and little bowls and arranging them in groups by colour!)

I have always had odd and silly dreams and some I remember for years!   There was the one about lowering the closet doorknob with the help of my psychology instructor and the strange conversation and…???

With dreams like these, you have got to know where my “oddities” come from!!!!!    …lol…   Sometimes I just wake up laughing!!!

Anyway…Here is Progress on Day 6…had some more rain yesterday so that’s good..!  

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

AGRD6aAGRD6

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

7 thoughts on “March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 6”

  1. A pretty strange dream indeed but it makes a good story for a rug, don’t you think?haha.

    Sorry your allergies are bothering you or maybe a cold. It will be a long time before we see blooms here except maybe some house plants.

    I was wondering what kind of backing are you using. It looks close weaved and whiter than my linen backing.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Most of my dreams are strange, Julia!!!!! …lol…

      I am using my favourite linen burlap backing from MCG textiles. (I buy it online)

      It is a close weave so I can use from #3 to #8 on it…but some don’t like it because it IS more difficult to pull a #8 through…!

      It is not as expensive as many of the linens and because I use so much, I buy it on sale. I first tried it out by buying one of the small packages of linen…30 x 36 inches…and using it for a project. Loved it and now buy it by the bolt…!

      I think Joann stores carry the packages. I learned to hook on Burlap so I like that weave…and to have it be linen is great. I’ve used it for many years now.

      Happy Hooking! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Just thinking I learned to hook on burlap too and didn’t mind it that much plus I had a ready supply because my uncle owned an upholstery shop and used tons of it. Years later I discovered primitive linen and fell in love with it. I buy mine from Dorr but will check out your suggestion.
    I love your dreams. Very complicated and colorful too. I never seem to remember mine all that often. I wonder what that means?

    Your scallops are a great way to use up those worms. Read somewhere that you can stuff them into pillows, along with fiberfill, but though using them it seems sort of sad not to utilize the color in them. Happy hooking today!

    1. HI Jo Anne…I tried monk’s cloth and some of the new linens too, but I did not like them as much (the linens I tried were soft and slippery!!!)
      I liked the feel of burlap so the Linen burlap was ideal for me. 🙂 And the price was good!!!

      I often wonder what dreams tell about us…I am thankful to have had very few “scary” dreams over my 73 years. From the time I was a child, almost all of my dreams (those I remember) were either pleasant or funny!

      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

      1. It was interesting to see the amount of “color” that was in that dream of yours. Seems that it is such a part of your every day life that it even transmits into your dreams.
        Re: monk’s cloth. I tried it too but it felt weird to me and seemed way to stretchy.

Leave a Reply

