March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 7

200redhatLADYI have been working up the left side of the rug, hooking some in the center too and hooking some lettering!

I’m almost to the top of the left side…and I decided to connect the scallops with a scrappy line so they were not just scrappy “blobs”  (!!!) along the border!!!!   🙂

Again, although it is not as interesting for you…I am filling in background as I go and I feel like I am making good progress on this rug.  

I’ll start telling a bit about this design today.  

When I first juried in to the Vermont Hand Crafters group in Vermont many years ago, my art work was designing Santas, Father Christmas figures and folk art characters for collectors.   I sold my work at the VHC Holiday Show in Burlington VT in November and used a booth with dark green drapes.

SANTA250aSANTA200I branched out into doing Elves and “Red Hat” ladies (one shown above!), funny characters with names that were “plays on words” etc. and just had great fun! 

I did special orders and was always happy to have a new character to work on!

The faces were soft sculpted for the most part but I did a few with Sculpy faces.  

(I am getting out my supplies and am going to make Santas and characters once again…I miss doing them so I will have another art project to enjoy along with my rugs!!!)

Several years later, when I had been designing and hooking original rugs, I juried in again  with hooked rugs and was able to sell them at the Holiday show along with my Santas, etc.

I decided I needed a hooked “sign” to hang at the back of my booth to promote rugs…so I started sketching several different ideas and looking at vintage designs and illustrations that I could use for this.   It needed to be bright…to show up against all that green!!!!!!

As I said, I was doing simpler designs back then and this was one of them.   I did not do this one (it was more child-like)… choosing to do a more “adult” sign based on vintage illustrations!

I thought it would be fun to do this older piece now and use it as one of the wall mats I hang outside my apartment door.    It isn’t part of my “Sunnie” signs (I still need to do a “Winter” one of those 24 x 24 inch apartment rugs)…but it just a happy design that might bring a smile to those who see it.   🙂 

Here is Progress on Day 7…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AGRD7AGRD7b

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 7”

  1. Your creations are wonderful Sunnie. you’re really talented. I can see why you should return to soft sculptured people once again. A great pass time and your creatures have such great expressions. You’re full of surprises.
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. Your colors never disappoint!! You are talented,, for sure,,, wow,,,, you have lots of energy , I can see,,,, your people are unique,,,,,
    happy hooking, sunnie,,, your colors make my day,,,,,

  3. Thank you Elaine…I am really thankful for those who zip in to see me when I am doing these goofy pieces!!!

    My husband used to laugh and say…”How DO you think up these things!!!” …lol…
    He said it never would occur to him to create a design that looked like a combination of” a chicken, a carrot and a pair of high heeled shoes…” or something funny like that…!
    I figure why not??? 🙂

    I don’t hook every rug design that pops into my head…some are just Too nutty!!! And I don’t create every character that comes to mind, even if I get a giggle out of the thought myself…!

    I’ve had fun with “What ifs…” all my life. It’s been a delight for me to create these pieces and if others enjoy them too, it is an extra blessing!!!
    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

