March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9

Well,  I didn’t have too much time to hook over the weekend…But…I did have some time last night to fill in more background and lettering and to add some bright stripes to the mix!!!

I’m hooking across the top and the bottom of the rug now and will be hooking the right side of the rug last.

This piece makes me smile as it is, of course, rather silly…but many of my pieces are silly…!!!!!   🙂

After this rug, I have several rugs in mind to do and will come back into the present for my design ideas.   It has been restful to do these last two simple wall pieces…nothing to ponder about, no difficult decisions to make.   If you have been doing a rug that has taken a lot of planning and careful colour changes or difficult-to-hook motifs, you might want to do something small and simple just to rest your brain!!!!!   …lol…

I am glad I made a background change inside the row of bright “beads”…from the light herringbone to the darker vanilla plaid!   However, if I were doing this again, I think I might reverse the process and have the lighter on the inside and the darker on the outside!   I did not have enough of the vanilla wool to do that so it wasn’t an option…but if I had been buying wool to do this I might have done it  the other way!!!   It would look as though a “spotlight” was on the center and draw the eye there!!!   See if you agree when you see the finished piece.   🙂

I never worry about that type of thing though…I like it as it is, and any of us could spend precious hooking time (or family time, or gardening time or???) fussing about the rug we did earlier and criticizing it…!  

There are two ways to handle  a situation where we don’t like something we’ve done on a rug:

1.  If it drives you crazy…redo it…!

2.   If we realize that those were the decisions we made at the time, and colours of wool we had at the time, go on to the next rug and we’ll try for a result that pleases us more!

Pretty simple stuff…!!!!!!! 

Here is Progress on Day 9…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AGRD9bAGRD9

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9”

  1. Sunnie,
    Never stop creating this “silly rugs”! Your sense of humor and infectious cheerfulness never fail to bring a smile to my faces. You go girlfriend!!

  2. I think I get sillier as I get older!!! …lol…
    I am always thankful when someone says that my rugs always make them smile or laugh out loud..!!! The world need more laughter and more smiles…and creating these makes me happy too!!

    Thanks for coming along with me on these adventures!!!
    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  3. Hello Sunnie We are traveling on West coast. Would love to see your rugs..where are you located?

    Thank you-love your blog. Victoria

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    1. Hi Victoria…Glad you enjoy the blog!!! I live just south of Portland, Oregon in King City. It is close to Tigard, Oregon too…just off

      It would be fun to see you when you are up this way…just let me know when you are in the area and we can arrange a visit..! 🙂

      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  4. Sunnie, I love your philosophy on rug hooking. I’ve learned a lot as I have followed you through your”silly “rugs but really, they are not silly at all, just humorous….. I still have no idea what your Spring rug is… You’re getting better at hiding the true characters of your rugs.

    Good night Sunnie,
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hey, Julia…I’m always happy to have you with me!!! This rug is just a bit goofy…but now that I am older I can get away with anything!!!!! …lol…

      ( I love how Grandfather’s portrait is coming along…your portraits are always lovely!)
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

