March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 10

Hooray…I had some time to hook yesterday evening and had fun doing this flower!!!   (and…I filled in some blue too, as you will see in the 2nd thrilling photo!!!!!)    🙂

I had to laugh at myself as I looked at the rug hanging on my “display board” last night.   Although I could  easily have had symmetry on this piece, I chose to make each side of the rug different… so it is just a little “off”!!!!!   …lol…

It is not that I don’t like symmetry…I admire the beautiful floral and geometric rugs that have exactly the same motifs on each side of the rug!    But it is just not the way I like to work…!   I delight in seeing the precise work of others where they express their joy in uniformity and consistency…I’m just not moved to do it myself!!!  

You can see the “scribbles” I make on the backing as I redesign or refine my first sketch…I’ve said before that my first drawing on the backing is usually a “suggestion” of the final rug-to-be.   It is never meant to be a pattern to follow exactly!!   For me, it wouldn’t be fun if I knew in advance what the finished rug would be!!!!    

As you will see, when I show the completed rug, I have made the motifs on the right side of the rug a little (or a Lot..!!!) larger than on the left side.   And although I was going to put the scallops the same on each side of the rug, I decided to make them spaced differently too!!!!!     I think it is my constant experimentation and the “I wonder what will happen if I do this” attitude that guides my work.   And, of course, the great fun in it all…!!!   🙂

So here is Progress on Day 10…I’m having a grand time and I’m glad you’ve joined me for this hooking adventure!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AGRD10AGRD10b

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “March Mystery-AGRD-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 10”

  1. I love your bravery Sunnie, you’re the most secure hooker I know. Always experimenting…. not following the norm, with good results… A good thing you’re not a teenager, I’d start to worry. he he.

    I love those flowers with their little curly tendrils. They really add interest and helps with hooking the background with movement.

    Nice Sunny day here today. I hope some snow will melt a little. Always hopeful that Mother Nature will give birth soon.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. You know, Julia…I was a “good” teen-ager (!!!) but I was always experimenting with my writing and my designs for some of my clothes. Mom sewed for me and I did some sewing for myself, and I loved to have something “different”.

      I remember being a bit “miffed” when some other girls at school liked my outfits and wanted one “just like it”! I went home and told Mom that I didn’t want my friends to copy me. I still remember her telling me that it was a real compliment for friends to like my designs and want them for themselves. I remember saying that I was happy they liked them but I asked her, “Why don’t they just get some ideas from me and then design some of their own?”

      I guess I found out, when I first got into rug hooking, that even the best teachers had different “You Should Do this” instructions!
      I was given many “instructions” in how to do the hooking “right”…(!!!)…but after a bit, I found that the rug hooking teachers were giving me instructions that were sometimes the opposite of what other teachers were saying…so I figured out that I could do anything I wanted to do!!!! …lol…

      I know that not Everyone will like what I do, but I don’t like some of the rugs others do either! 🙂 It is very relaxing to not have to please everyone…just myself..!!! If others enjoy my work, that is an extra blessing!

      I’m thinking good Spring thoughts for you out there!!! I’m sure it will come soon. I used to tell Joe that I promised we’d not have snow on his birthday…which is the 1st of July!!!! 🙂
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Sunnie, you’re a true fibre artist.
        I used to tell my girls the same thing your mom told you about if someone was copying them to take it as a compliment as they wanted to be just like them.

        Hugs,
        JB

Leave a Reply

