March Mystery rug-“A Great Day”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 15

Well here we go!!!   This is the lower part of the “mystery” rug “A Great Day”…for today’s post!  

The whole rug will be shown tomorrow when I finish up that right upper corner!!   🙂

I will hang this mat outside my apartment door, in the same location where I hang my “Sunnie apartment signs” rugs!   I hope it will give people a laugh when they see it…and perhaps brighten their day!     🙂

Now if I were a Boy and, as I said before, had a father who was an Elf , a mother who was a Ladybug and relatives who had some Flowers for ancestors…this is what I would look like!!!!   …lol…

I had drawn elf ears on the figure but decided it looked too much like “just an elf”…so I just left off the ears so the Ladybug mom would be seen too!!!   In my drawing back then, the figure was holding a banner that said “Sunnie Andress Designs”…and did not have the bright circles or the scrappy upper border.

It is fun for me to think about how combinations of things can be put together in a funny way…and we can also get fun combinations with the “creative cutting” method of designing rugs.   (creative cutting is what I call my method of cutting out 10+ random shapes out of paper, placing them on a rug backing and then designing the rug using some or all of those shapes….whatever pops into our heads!)

So here is Progress on Day 15…the Finished rug will be shown tomorrow!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AGRD15

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “March Mystery rug-“A Great Day”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 15”

  1. Oh Sunnie, I had no idea there was a person in there. Now I’m looking forward to seeing what your creative mind has created.
    I hope you have a nice day.

    Hugs,
    JB

  2. Hi,,, sunnie,,,, now I am starting to get an idea what yohr mat is all about!!!! Its going to be fun to see it tomorrow,,, you are a hooking machine! ,,!! Wow!!!

  3. Sunnie,
    Am anxiously awaiting the big reveal tomorrow. Do you always have a welcoming hooked rug on your front door? I think that’s a great idea as my red front door has a clear storm door in front of it which protects my wreaths. How do you attach yours? You keep coming up with great ideas!!

  4. It’s been a funny little rug!!! 🙂

    I can’t put anything on my apartment door… but I have a wall that is at right angles to my door and I hang the mats on dowels on that wall.
    The main door to our apartments opens on a landing with 2 apartments up and 2 down.
    You can immediately see my wall when you enter the main door and I live 7 steps down…so it is an ideal place to hang a smaller rug!

    When we lived in Vermont, Joe put a screw in the upper center of our metal door to hold a Christmas wreath. He painted it the same colour as the door.

    Of course the only problem with mats, small quilts or felt hangings, etc. is that you have to put some holding “things” (!!!) on a door and if it is a beautiful door, you might not want to add 2 screws to hold wire, ribbon or narrow cord loops and a dowel.

    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

