“Love’s Memories”-Fraktur-adapted design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 1

 

Here we go!!!   🙂

This is not a true “Mystery rug” because you know what I am doing (!!!)   …lol…   and I won’t be covering up so much of the rug so you can see my scribbles, etc.   But I won’t show the whole rug until the finish.     Please feel free to ask any questions…I’ll try to answer!!!  

Many of us love the designs on old frakturs and samplers!    Also, many rug hookers over the years have used these designs for mats and rugs…either copying them exactly in a reproduction, adapting them or being inspired by the designs and drawing their own!   I said yesterday that Dover has many books of designs for Early American designs, Pennsylvania Dutch designs, Fraktur motifs and Sampler designs…so there are lots of motifs to choose from!

Since these frakturs (and some samplers too!) celebrated births, marriages and deaths as well as being given to students for good school progress, etc. I thought I would celebrate my marriage year-1988- on this rug.   I am also using lots of plaids…and will show you pictures of the actual wools-mill-dyed today– so you can see how they hook up.   Tomorrow, I will show a photo of some of the hand-dyed wool I am using!

My rug is 32 x 42 inches and I started my design with an adaptation of One figure from an old fraktur image.   The rest of my rug is simply  hand-sketched on the backing, drawing my own motifs while looking through my books.   And…as you know, I change my mind often and design as I go…so this rug is no exception!   …lol…

Here are some of the the wools I am starting with today…these are mill-dyed wools.   I have lightened the picture so you can see the colours in the plaids.   The three dark plaids are used as Center Background…they are mixed together or used around figures, etc.   The quiet red plaid on the left is used for the background Border.   The red plaid on the right is used for some flowers and the green and vanilla plaid is used for some stem accents, etc.

WOOLSmem1

Here below is the photo of Day 1 Progress…you can see the 3 dark plaids used in the center background and the red plaid on the left above used in the border.   This photo is not lightened so you can see the dark wools used together.   With plaids, you can set aside some colours and use them for outlining, etc.   My main plaid used in the background is the one on the upper right.   I love the colours blending!   🙂 You can see just a little of the red on the right used in the flower…it is a great red too!

(I have lightened the second photo so you can see the colours in the plaid and how they bring some interest and “movement” to the background…I really like that..!   and yet, it “reads” as a solid, not spotty or scrappy-looking.)

I will post photos of the light wool, some of the hand-dyed wool and my “Misc.” wool tomorrow!!!   I am having a great time with this already…and looking forward to hooking today after morning chores and going out to lunch!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

MGarden1LIghtM

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on ““Love’s Memories”-Fraktur-adapted design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 1”

  1. Ooooo, your plaid wool is yummy. Since I’m a thrifty person I tend to buy wool skirts from the thrift stores and I’m having difficulty finding plaid skirts. Most of them are dark solid charcoal or black. I use Dorr wool that I dye when can’t get the right color so I don’t get much texture in my rugs like you.

    This is starting to look nice already.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…I also used to go to thrift shops to find wool skirts and I did find some, but I found that jackets or coats were too heavy for my work. I have a lot of wool now and I do add new, mill-dyed plaids from time to time…buying a 1/2 yard or a yard. It gives me a lot to work with..!

      I’m loving these colours…!!!!! (I guess I Should be loving this rug since it is about memories of love!!! 🙂
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Sunnie,,,, you are so fast!! Looking forward to seeing the rug process,,,, I know I am going to love it,,,

Leave a Reply

