“Love’s Memories”-Fraktur-adapted design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day2

Today’s post has more wool pictures!   🙂  

I am using these wools in this rug…and, of course, will add colours as I go!   As you know, with plaids, you can use the darker and lighter parts of the plaid in different ways.  

For instance, in the green plaid, upper right, I can set the orange  vertical strips aside when I cut and only use the strips in between…where there is just the green, orange, green, orange on the strips cut.   The entire strips cut from the vertical stripe can be used for something else that needs more orange and less green.

The green plaid below the first one is great for separating lighter and darker green strips!!

WOOLmem2

Just wonderful wools!!!!!  Above… the “Deep Glade” and “Red Dragon” are from Sun and Wind Farm,  the plaid lower right is from Heavens to Betsy and you see it hooked in the “separation” line between the dark center background and the red border.   (day one photo)   I’m not sure where I got the other wool pieces.

WOOLmem3Because I have had some of my wools for a long time, I don’t remember where they came from…but you can find similar wools sold by The Wool Studio, Heavens to Betsy and others.

The lower photo shows some of the wool used in the “day 1” flower.  I hand-dyed the purplish wool…it is my “Summer Wine”.   I used to do a lot of wool dying and overdying, but now living in an apartment, I am a bit hesitant to dye my own wools.   I said before that I might do some of the casserole dying that I used to do, but for now, I am content to purchase small wool amounts from other wonderful wool colourists!!!!

 

Here is Progress on Day 2…I am working on the left side of the rug first, doing the background and the border as I go.   I am leaving the circles in the border open until I have the left border background finished…then I will try out ideas for the circle strip colours.   I don’t want the border to overshadow the center…but I want the circles to hold some leftover woolworms that are softer colours that go with the center.   So I will experiment..!!!   …lol…

I have filled in the upper left border background and hooked the corner heart…!    The heart center is a plaid, the outline blue is a solid.   Again, you can see the colours in these plaid wools with the close-up  photo.   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Mgarden2

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on ““Love’s Memories”-Fraktur-adapted design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day2”

  1. It’s already looking nice and promising and I love that little blue heart.

    I’ve been pulling more hoops on my rug too but mostly on the border. You know me and my wide borders. A good way to use up those dark plain colored thrift skirts.

    Happy hooking Sunnie.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Glad you are finding time to hook, Julia…but reading your post and all you do, I am always amazed at everything you accomplish!!!!! 🙂
      I’m having fun with this rug already!!! Happy Hooking!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Sunnie,, very nice,, you are so good to discuss your colors,,, plaids,, I love ,, always learn something from you,,,,

    1. Hi Elaine…I always appreciated it when rug hookers using plaids showed the plaid wool and how it hooked up! That helped me a lot!!! I know that choosing a plaid with quiet colours in the same value will hook up softly and make wonderful backgrounds! I use more and more mill-dyed plaids in my work now that I cannot do the dying I used to do in Vermont..! 🙂
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

