“Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 5

This rug is such fun!!!   🙂

I am able to use some wools that I love but hadn’t used before, some new wools and some leftovers from past rugs!   It makes a lot of nice “remembering”…some memories, of course, are bittersweet…as memories often are.   

I have put the gold wool heart into the bottom left border corner and I think I like it…but I will wait to make a final decision until I get more done in the center.  

At a hooking gathering in the past I remember someone asking me why I would draw out my pattern on the linen with perfectly round circles and smooth-edged leaves, etc. and then Hand-draw imperfect circles, leaves and even faces over the perfect ones when it came time to hook!!!   …lol…  

Of course, the answer is that I am either deranged (!!!)…Or…I want some of my rugs to have the naïve look of the old frakturs.   You don’t even have to look “carefully” at the original works to see that although the designs are wonderful (at least I think so!!!) the frakturs are hand drawn and the sizes and shapes are far from perfect.  I think that I appreciate designs that are a little “off”…they make me smile!     🙂

Below is a fraktur-inspired 24 x 24 inch piece from years ago…I had fun with this quirky mat too!   I still laugh at the expression on the woman’s face and her 2 feet going to the side as she faces the front.   🙂

GOLDEN250

Well, on with the present work…here is Progress on Day 5…the gold heart in the finished left border (except for filling in the circles)…filling a bit more in background and leaves and filling in more grass and ground under the boots!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Mgarden5hoMgarden5b

 

Mgarden5op

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on ““Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 5”

  1. The new golden heart looks so fine. I’m so glad you’re hooking this rug Sunnie. It always brings a smile on my face to see your creations.
    I think I would have a difficult time hooking a Fraktur rug. I don’t have enough discipline for that.

    Enjoy the day.
    Hugs.
    JB

    1. I’m really enjoying this rug too…the colours are so nice to work with and it is coming out like I wanted it to look!!!!
      That is always a happy surprise!!!!!!! …lol…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

