“Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 7

For today’s post, I worked on more background using one of the three plaids that I chose to use! 🙂

This is another “experiment”…!!!      …lol…

As I’ve said before, I don’t want to have to worry or have concerns about Anything when I hook a rug, mat or chairpad …!!!    So,  when I choose the background wool, I always make sure that I have more than enough to finish the piece. 

If I am not quite sure if I have enough of the wool I’ve chosen,   I simply choose blending wools that can go into the background if needed.  (I don’t use formulas to work out the amount of wool I need…it is not necessary for me)

If needed, I can pull out strips around the motifs and use a blending wool for outlines, using the strips I pulled out to finish up the background…OR…I can leave openings in the background and insert the blending wool in the openings all over the rug…OR…I can do what I am doing here and place the background wools in different areas of the rug.

Since I had only a half-yard of my main choice for this background, I used one quarter yard on the left side and am saving the other quarter yard for the right side.   (this is a 32 x 42 inch rug so I know it would need a lot more wool than 1/2 yard!!!!!)

   I had chosen two other plaids to blend in, outline and use for other areas.   I am using the three plaids together in the left and right side backgrounds, using the main choice wool for most of it.    I am using only one of the plaids…a darker plaid… for the center background.   

 Today’s photos show the transition, with the second photo lightened.   I am hoping that the slight difference in depth of colour will draw attention to the center which is where it should be!!!   We will see if I succeed when the rug is finished…!   🙂

So here is Progress on Day 7…I also hooked a bit of the center “grass-ground” in the third photo!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

Mgarden7kljmgarden7qqqMgarden7jjj

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on ““Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 7”

  1. I really love the textured wool you’re using.
    To roughly estimate how much wool I need, I fold wool in 4 and cover the area I need to hook as I use fine cut. I like that you can adjust your background by pulling some wool here and there to make sure you cover the area evenly.

    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

