“Love’s Memories”-Fraktur Design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 14

 

It’s really fun to see this piece come together!      (And, of course, I am working on a few areas that you won’t see until the finish…!!!)   🙂

I do love the wools I am using and am so thankful for all the beautiful wools available to us, both in thrift shop finds, small batches sold by wool colourists and wonderful off-the-bolt wools too!

When I first started rug hooking, I bought low priced “mistakes” (!!) that wool dyers offered for low prices.   These were wools that had a few spots of undissolved dye or were an odd colour or were bolt ends that had a ragged edge, etc.    I built up a stash of both hand-dyed and mill-dyed wools looking for bargains…and I had a few plaid thrift shop skirts too.  

Later on, when I did my rug hooking and Santa-making as a business, I added more wools so I now have a good collection.  I did dying too and sold some of my creative dyed wools as well as using them for myself!!!     I still buy wool, but usually in small quantities and I am “shopping” in my own wool room for most of the rugs I do.   But it is always nice to have a new piece of wool to enjoy!!   Hey, I could be out driving other people crazy…(!!!!!)…but rug hooking keeps me inside a lot… or on my balcony!   I can mostly drive people crazy on the internet now!!!!   …lol…   (and, of course, my family on occasion!!!!)

Here is Progress on Day 14…  Completed left border and finishing upper center design and border…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Mgarden14Mgarden14b

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on ““Love’s Memories”-Fraktur Design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 14”

  1. I know what you mean about bargain wool. I found out the hard way too that not all wool are created equal.
    Your rug is a beauty. Sunny day here and a beautiful afternoon.
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. Sunnie,, your mat is really coming along!! Love your colors,,, you have a way,, with color for sure,,, also love the scrappy circles, too,,,
    happy hooking,,,

Leave a Reply

