“Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design/Sunnie/rug hooking/Day 18

Here we go on Day 18…!!   🙂

I changed the right hand heart interior to my first choice, a soft greenish wool plaid (used elsewhere in the rug).   The heart is slightly “off”, as is the outline I told you about yesterday….!!!)   …lol…

I finished  up the upper border, filling in the empty circles with leftover woolworms!

A little of the border explanation of symbols…

…the “rusty” red border plaid reminds me of the colour of many Vermont barns Joe and I passed as we drove around the state.   We loved living in Vermont.

the circles represent wedding rings…and they were drawn on the linen perfectly round to please Joe!      (He would have done that had he drawn them.)   I, however, changed them all to hand-drawn circles that are not perfect.   Symbols of our lives and our various little imperfections we each brought to our marriage!   🙂   The fact that they were done both ways shows how we appreciated each other’s views!!!

The single outline of all the circles is the same blue-except for two circles!!!   The center circles in the top border’s group of three has 2 outlines in a soft green plaid.   The quiet blue, orderly, single outline stands for Joe.    The “had to be different” 2 greenish outlines stand for me! 

The leftover woolworm centers stand for Joe’s New England thrifty attitude (I shared that)… And the messes we both made while working on our art, craft, hobbies, etc.    Thankfully, we both had different workrooms so that was never a problem!!!!!  …lol…

(Also…it gets me in good with the ladies in the Great De-Worming Marathon group on Rug Hooking Daily!!!!!!!)

(note: I think I said before that I made the circles sink back into the red a bit so they did not draw attention away from the center motifs…they are quietly “there”!   Because of the flash, they look brighter than they are.)

The lower border will be a bit different but it will be better that way…not from a whim of mine but for ease of adding the lettering!  

Here is Progress on Day 18…this is actually going faster than I expected since the rug is fairly large – 32 x 42 inches…!   (also a reminder photo below this one of the left hand border)    Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Mgarden18Mgarden14b

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on ““Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design/Sunnie/rug hooking/Day 18”

  1. Love your mat, sunnie,,, the colors just glow!! Also that u would draw your circles not perfect! Me too,,, if I draw out patterns,,,
    You are progressing so fast!!

  2. How wonderful that you purposely added your own twist to represents the meaning behind memories of your life together. I love that you drew the circle unevenly on purpose.
    Yep, the left over worms in your circles will keep you in good standing with the Deworming group. hehe. The only left over skinny worms in my grandfather rug are the eyes but I’m accumulating some extra worms with this one.

    Hugs.
    JB

Leave a Reply

