“Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Days 22 and 23

Well life certainly intervened this week!!!!!   I just had bits and pieces of time to hook…but those bits and pieces Finally finished the background on the right hand border!   Hooray!   🙂

And…also some on the bottom border where I am using some odds and ends of wool to start deciding on the lettering colours.   Now I need to hook more of those pesky leftover woolworms in the right side circles and that border will be done!!!!   (I see I need to redo that bottom scallop point…looks a little short..!)

I had thought about continuing the scallop motif for the bottom border but decided against it.   I like the simplicity of the bottom border contrasting with the other sides.    (And, it has more “weight” to “hold” the design up above!!!!!)   …lol…

It won’t be too long until the finish which will probably be Monday or Tuesday of next week.   It has been great to work on this memory rug during April…instead just sitting around feeling sorry for myself because Joe is gone.   Mom said the first few years are the most difficult to adjust to being alone…and she is right, at least for me.   But I am fortunate to have rug hooking as a great way to turn the sadness into hooked memories!!!   🙂

Here we go on Days 22 and 23…I’ll be slow for the next few days as we’re planning a wedding reception for our family.   We’re having fun!!!!   Happy Hooking!   Hope you are all well and enjoying at least some Spring!!!   Sunnie  🙂

Mgarden22

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on ““Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Days 22 and 23”

  1. Looking great! Looking forward to seeing the finished product. What a great way to preserve memories for you. Toni

  2. Looking like a happy mat!! Glad u have your hooking,,,, looking forward to seeing it done,,,, spring has sprung here!!

  3. I think your rug looks fantastic Sunnie and I’m so glad that you’re helping with planning the wedding reception. I’m certain it will be fun and wonderful. It’s a good diversion from being sad when you have people around you. How exciting to have a wedding in the family….
    It won’t be long we will be able to see your Mystery Rug. I can’t wait.
    May tomorrow already…

    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

