“Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 24-25

Well…here we go!!!   My rug is almost finished but I need to change some more things and adjust others just a bit..!!!   🙂

Yesterday I spent most of the day cleaning, organizing and moving furniture around.  That is what I do when I’m sad…as it is pretty mindless, has to be done sometime anyway and it is better for me than just sitting being sad.   I realized that, with caring for Joe through his illness and for the cat in her old age, my time and schedule really has revolved around caretaking for the last three years.    It seems strange not to be doing that.   Of course caring for Joe was a blessing in that it was something I could do for him!   He did so much for me before his illness!  

And with the cat, being home with her was pleasant and not a sacrifice!    While she slept I could do a lot of hooking and, as I said yesterday,  her presence was comforting.  But it will take me a while to get out of the “kitty routine”…this morning I was checking the clock to see if it was time to get her up.

So, as I usually do, I am counting my blessings …having her for so many years was a joy and her decline was only over the last 6 months and the difficult decline was only the last few weeks.   So we did well.

Now to the rug…I am happy at how it turned out and loved working with the colours!   However, I usually don’t make mistakes with my choice of lettering and with lettering colours…(or if I Do, I fix them right away!!!!)…but I did this time!!!   I thought that the lettering could be fairly large and using the dull gold of the lower heart, they wouldn’t stand out too much!!!    After I had hooked quite a bit of it…   Wrong!!!   …lol…

I have left in the -1988- so you can see how the gold draws attention to itself…and the numbers just are too big.   I wanted the lettering to be subtle and fade into the background some.   In this case, the lettering is an “identifier” of what this rug is celebrating…not an “in your face”, “jump out at you” part of the rug for the viewer!!!   (Or for me!!!!!)   🙂

I changed the lettering to make it smaller and used the blue that actually is not as bright in the rug as the flash shows.    Thankfully, it is there but sinks into the background some.     I will take out and redo the 1988 also!

As you can see, the lettering on Joe’s side is orderly and nicely spaced.   On my side, the lettering is tipped and spaced a bit goofy!   Personalities again!!!!!   🙂   (Most of the “odd things” are on my side!!!!!)   …lol…

I have not done the right hand scrappy circles yet so they are gray…and I haven’t adjusted the lower right border outline point.   I think I will take out the flower face on my side and replace it with a cat face…adding Cassie into the rug.   It will be nice to have her with me!!!

As I have said, there are so many little symbols and quirks in the rug that I haven’t mentioned…but you know quite a few of them.   I decided not to have scallops on the bottom border but put them in the ground on Joe’s side because he would be interested in an odd geological formation!!!   When I look at the ground under My feet, the space of the greens and browns looks a bit like a pie in a dish…!!!!

Joe loved my pies so I had to laugh as I hadn’t tried to make a pie shape…it just happened…!!!

So here is Progress so far…an “Almost Finished” picture!    Of course, I had to put my “S.A.” initials in the rug because most of my friends do not know my real name…only my nickname and I have gone by “Sunnie” for over 40 years!!!!   So “JRA” won’t mean anything to them!!

I’ll post the finished rug later but I’m resting a while and then will start my next piece.    (I know what it will be!!!!)     Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

Mgarden24-25

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on ““Love’s Memories”-Fraktur design/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 24-25”

  1. Wonderful rug full of memories for you. It will be a treasure. Changing the flower to your cat’s face will me a nice added touch.

  2. Oh Wow, this is spectacular. Even better than I had imagined. I think this is one of your best rugs ever although they are all so very special. This one seem to have a little extra. I love those fancy borders and see your prince is as handsome as he was on his picture you posted on RHD.

    So sorry you feel sad but I understand, they both left a big void when they left.
    ((Hugs)).
    JB

  3. Oh sunnie,,, what a beauty!! So sorry about your beloved cat,,, sad , for sure,,, we have gone thru alot of pets!! Your mat is so lovely,,, love the story,,,, loved reading about your story and seeing the pictures,, thank you,,,

Leave a Reply

