New Mystery rug-SLC starting today!/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 1

Well I’ve had a good rest, designed a new rug and am ready to go!!!   🙂 I miss my cat, Cassie, very much but she had a great long life and I’ll do a rug of her one of these days too!!!    Thank you for the nice comments about her and my “memories” rug!

“LOVE’S MEMORIES”  RUG…..I will show the completed “Love’s Memories” rug after this next weekend as I’m going to finish the right side border circles (using leftover woolworms!) at the hook-in…”Hookity-Do Dah”…this weekend!!!   A perfect place to have fun with others who love rug hooking and add those scrappy circles to finish the rug!   🙂 ____________________________________________________******************* This NEW DESIGN is a blending (I hope!!!!!) of a drawing that I started a couple of years ago and then put away without finishing it.   When looking at the “Zentangle” (registered name) drawings online and on Pinterest and seeing the other “creative doodles” people were doing, I thought I could pull out that older design, change some of it, add creative doodles and make a rug!!!   A delightful experiment…Hooray!!!!!

I’m also trying to use some of my small pieces of wool that fray easily!!!!!   …lol…   You can see that in this photo!   This will be easy for you to get the “drift” of the design as I go along…so it won’t be a complete mystery.   It’s a larger rug too…about 28 inches by 52 inches.   I just kept doodling!!!!!

Those of you who are members of Rug Hooking Daily know that we just had a discussion of starting a rug and just doing what you feel like doing, filling up the rug as you go…so although I have drawn the “guide design” on my backing, I will be redesigning and changing as I go!  

Also, I have pulled out as many of my blue wools as possible…plaids, hand-dyed wools and mill-dyed wool to use in this piece…It’ll be fun…I just know it.

So here is Progress on Day 1 of SLC…and away we go!!!!     Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂 Sea1

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery rug-SLC starting today!/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 1”

  1. Hi Sunnie, I’m glad you’re back and feel rested. I know it’s an adjustment for you but it will also free some bits of time to hook.
    It looks nice already. I’ve been thinking of doing a doodle rug too but right now is not the best time for me. Too busy with gardening.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…since I am bothered by allergies and get “hay fever” from gardening, I stay inside for much of the summer. I go outside in the Autumn and Winter as things are not as “blooming” then!!!! 🙂

      This new rug is going to be great fun…I can just feel it…and I love all the blue wools I’m going to use!!! It will be easy to know what this rug is about very quickly…so no real “mystery”…but I hope it will be enjoyable to see my progress…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Hi sunnie,,,, this mat is going to be fun, too,,, tho, I think every mat you do is fun,, you make it fun with your bright colors and fun style,, thsnks for posting the beginning,,, I have been doodling on paper lately,,, might just do a small mat to see what happens,,,,
    take care

    1. Oh I hope you do a “doodle” rug, Elaine! I know it will be fun…and there are so many things you can do with lines and circles and squiggles, etc. 🙂
      I thought about a small mat too…but I got carried away doodling!!!!! …lol…
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

