Mystery Rug-“Sea L C”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 8

Wow, did we have a wild storm yesterday…lightening, thunder, rain, hail…etc.   Good thing I don’t need power to do my hooking as we lost power twice during the storm.   Thankfully, it was not off for long!

I hope any of you thinking about doing a “doodle-type” rug will go ahead and do one!   It is really great fun!   I looked at my first sketched design yesterday and my rug , except for the center motif, does not look anything like my first drawing…Or, the drawing I transferred to my backing!!!   …lol…

If I do another rug using this technique, I won’t transfer anything to my backing but the major motifs…and just leave spaces to fill in with whatever I want.   I have so many lines and cross-outs now that it’s a miracle I can see my latest change to hook it…!   I think I will just do my doodling and sketching and have the paper by my frame so I can see what I thought about doing at first.   Then, I can change it without having such a mess of lines!!!!!

So here is Progress on Day 8…Hooray!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

First…a picture of the “mess”!!!   this is what NOT to do!      …lol…

mess8Sea8b

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

5 thoughts on “Mystery Rug-“Sea L C”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 8”

  1. Wow, sinnie,,, you never cease to amaze me!!! Love , love it ,,, and your colors are great,,,,, I have been thinkingvof doing a doodle mat for sure,,, I will just do that,,, and not draw on the backing and see what happens,,,, great,,,,

    1. Hi Elaine…thank you for the kind words!!!
      I hope you will try a “doodle” rug…it is such fun! I always hope my mistakes will help others…I know I really appreciate it when someone gives me a good tip or suggestion!!!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  2. Your hooked doodles looks very pretty and orderly but I can see where trying to follow a changed pattern could be problematic. If anyone can do it, you can.

    I finished Grandfather rug and need to whip and bind it but I think a doodle would be good to relax a bit.
    It’s raining and I have a gazzilion things to do at home and at the barn. I’ve been cleaning at the farm for a bit today but I really have to baby my shoulder so maybe I’ll just try to come up with a doodle pattern.

    I’m Glad the storm is over and you got your power back.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Last time I saw Grandfather on your Blog, he did look serious…with a sense of purpose…but he didn’t look sad to me.
      I’ll go back and check him again. I looked on Rug Hooking Daily but I don’t think you’ve posted him there yet. I’ll go check that again too!!!!

      The doodle rug is great fun but you can see my mistake in transferring too much of my first ideas onto the backing!!!!! …lol…

      I am happy with what I have done…but I don’t know how the rug will look when I finish playing with it. 🙂
      Flowers or Ocean designs are perfect for this type of rug!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Hi Sunnie, I haven’t posted Grandfather yet. I have to rehook the maple leaves on his collar as they were hooked with too bright a yellow and I want to bind him but I may reconsider and post him anyway. I went up whip and sew the binding this evening but instead I cleaned up my hooking mess. I have a hard time working in a big mess. Little messes are OK but not big ones.

        I’ll let you know when I will post my Grandfather. I’ve been busy at the farm a lot today cleaning in the milkhouse.
        Good nightHugs,
        Julia

Leave a Reply

