Mystery Rug-“Sea LC”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 11

Swimming along today with the fishes!!!   🙂

Today I wanted to show you a photo of a wool I bought that is a very interesting plaid-texture!   I thought it would be great for sand in my “Sea” rug!!!    Well, I don’t have any sand in this rug…but I found out I could use it for some motifs if I rearranged my brain!!!!!    …lol…

So here is the wool…

Sea11fabricIt is interesting because it has some black in the mix and what looks like yellow, tan, a dull white/gray, etc.   I like how it hooks up and will explain more about why I used it later on.

I looked again at my first sketch for part of this rug and laughed because there are only a few motifs that were in that original…!   Also, the sketch that I used to transfer onto the backing doesn’t look much like my hooked piece either!!!!   And my hooked piece is much bigger than I intended!    🙂

This doodling is adding patterns much like some paisley fabric prints too…so I think doing a rug this way would be fun for a lot of rug hookers!   From geometric doodles to floral doodles to doodles of stars and planets,  microscopic pictures of diseases or just random “wanderings” with a pen…you can have a great time designing!!!!

So here is Progress on Day 11…Happy Hooking, Happy weekend and have a wonderful day!!!   Sunnie  🙂

Sea11Sea11v

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

