Mystery rug-“Sea Life C”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 17

I am working on “bits and pieces” of the center, the bottom and the top of the rug now…and as you know, I started at the lower right bottom of the rug and moved left from the bottom to the top.   I designed as I went along.

I find the best way to hook this kind of rug, where you are doodling the designs as you go, is to mostly finish the area you are working on and then see what would go nicely with what you have done.   And, as I said before, don’t do what I did and transfer too much stuff” to the backing!!!!!!   …lol…

I had a tough time scribbling over what I had already drawn and most of it was not used!   On one section, I gave up drawing altogether and just did the doodles with the wool…!!!   The backing was a real mess at that section!   🙂

The ocean and the sea always contain lots of vegetation, marine life, sunken ships, items washed away by floods or old building parts falling to pieces by neglect and/or the changing of cultural tastes.    Or rising sea waters too…so anything goes!!!  

In my story (that I tell myself while I am working on the rug) these motifs show the result of something that happened in the past.   Maybe as long as 80-90 years ago.   Something is there, at the sea bottom, that celebrates an era.   People collect many things…and some specialize in the main motif that will be shown here.  

As I move from the center into the left section of the rug, we are getting closer to the final doodle sections.   It is really such fun and I am seeing how all those wonderful blues can be used.

Thank you for coming along with me on this sea cruise!!!     …lol… 

I appreciate you all…and here is Progress on Day 17…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Sea17

Sea17c

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “Mystery rug-“Sea Life C”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 17”

  1. Sorry I’ve been missing in action Sunnie, but it’s raining wildly today , the power went out and I had to take a break from my busyness. As you may or may not know I’m taking a break from blogging in order to get things done.
    Your doodle sea world rug is looking quite delightful. Love all those beautiful blues and adjoining colors.
    Stay happy with your hooking.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. I know summertime is very busy for you…well any time is busy!!!!! I am just happy to visit your Blog and see you here from time to time! It is amazing that you can do the work at home and take time to comment on people’s blogs too. 🙂

      I think we all need that time away from the computer!!! I was organizing and clearing out some more today too…but it was in the mid-80’s and I don’t have a lot of energy in the summertime heat. Haven’t used the air conditioning yet…but the time will come!!!
      Hugs, and don’t work too hard!!!! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

