Mystery-“Sea Life Celebration: The…”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 26

This section was tricky to work on!   🙂

I didn’t have a good idea of what I needed to fill in the petal-shape…it is large and I didn’t want it to draw too much attention to itself, but it did need to stand out some…because of it’s location!   Just filling it in with one colour wouldn’t work and to many contrasting stripes (like the fish) wouldn’t look quite right either.   So I decided to work it with stripes close in value, with some dark and a little light touch at the tip!   We will see if it works well with the rest of the rug…I’ll sit and stare at it for awhile!!!   …lol…

As I’ve said before…with a rug hooked in this “design-as-you-go” manner, the simplest way to work is just to start a section and then make the next section fit in with the first and so on.   If you sit back and look at the entire rug from time to time as you work, you’ll immediately see something that doesn’t fit.   With my blues, I can pull out the few strips I’ve tried and replace them easily.   Then used the “rejects” (!!!) in another part of the rug!!!

So…here is Progress on Day 26…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Sea26

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “Mystery-“Sea Life Celebration: The…”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 26”

  1. Looking good Sunnie. I would agonize with choosing the right color but you have a great eye for what works.
    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. I think sitting back and looking a LOT at the whole rug is a big help to me! Especially when doing a rug like this where I Really don’t know where I am going with design, etc.
      With my regular rugs, I may change some along the way but not the whole rug!!!!! I am ending up with something I really like…but very little of my starting design is left…!!! …lol…
      Experimentation…what fun!!!!!

      You too, Julia…(have a nice weekend!!!!) Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

