Mystery-“Sea Life Celebration: The Painted Mermaid”/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 31

Hooray…we’re winding down now to the final hooking…tomorrow the whole rug will be finished…!   🙂

A little background information about this rug for today…my first sketch was done years ago and featured the head, torso and top of the “hips” of a mermaid with her hands down pushing out of a large shell.   I then thought about that same sketch without the shell where she was shown playing a stringed musical instrument that was a shell-shape.    The rug was to be about 20 inches wide and 26 inches tall.   A wall piece.

I had decided to do something else with this sketch after I saw the zentangle methods of drawing and the creative doodling on the internet.    So many of the “doodles and drawings” look like either sea life or floral fancies to me…and I thought I could combine my mermaid drawing with doodling and see where it got me!!!!   …lol

As I told you…my biggest mistake at first was transferring All of my “on paper” doodles to the rug backing.   Since I was starting out hooking the belt around the hips of the mermaid and going on from there, I began adapting the drawings to suit what I needed as I worked.   Dividing my pattern in sixths (mentally!), I worked mostly in each section before going onto the next.   I needed to adapt design and colour to go with what I had done before!   Having all those lines on the backing just made a mess!!!!

If I were to do this rug as a doodle rug again…I would transfer the mermaid and a few parts that I knew I would keep and then design on the backing from there.   It would have been easier!!!   Also, there were no fish in my first drawing…just vegetation, leaves, seaweed, etc.   Now I can’t imagine the rug without it’s “critters”!

The Story Of The Rug…

The story I told myself as I went along changed to an idea starting in the 1930’s with the popularity of the supper clubs.   Supposing that this mermaid was a painted sign, pointing the way to “The Painted Mermaid Lounge and Supper Club”.   Over the years, as the thriving waterfront fell into disrepair and the supper clubs lost their popularity  (in the 1940’s or so), perhaps a storm took the sign out to sea…where it sank to the bottom, and where it rests to this day!

Of course as we know,  life usually abounds where boats and other items sink to the bottom of the sea…and so it is with our mermaid sign.   She is in unusually good condition (artistic license!!!!) for being in the water that long…but we will overlook that technicality!   🙂

This has been a wonderful adventure to hook!!!   I’ve really enjoyed it…although hooking it this fast has given me some back and shoulder aches!!!!!   My own fault..!

So here is Progress on Day 31…tomorrow, the finished rug will be shown!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Sea31

 

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “Mystery-“Sea Life Celebration: The Painted Mermaid”/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 31”

Leave a Reply

