Mystery-“Sea Life Celebration: The Painted Mermaid”/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 32 Finished!

Hooray…we’ve reached the finish line!   I have enjoyed this so much!   🙂

If you did not see yesterday’s post and the story of this rug, here it is…

The Story Of The Rug… The story I told myself as I went along changed to an idea starting in the 1930’s with the popularity of the supper clubs.   Supposing that this mermaid was a painted sign, pointing the way to “The Painted Mermaid Lounge and Supper Club”.  

Over the years, as the thriving waterfront fell into disrepair and the supper clubs lost their popularity  (in the 1940’s or so), perhaps a storm took the sign out to sea…where it sank to the bottom, and where it rests to this day!

Of course as we know,  life usually abounds where boats and other items sink to the bottom of the sea…and so it is with our mermaid sign.   She is in unusually good condition (artistic license!!!!) for being in the water that long…but we will overlook that technicality!   🙂

She could be painted wood, painted stone or painted metal…and I loved using the “sand-coloured” wool for her “skin”!!!!   🙂

********************************************

Pattern Information: If you enjoy creative doodling yourself, I hope you will try your own “doodle” rug.   If you are interested in a paper pattern for this mermaid rug, I’m working on getting it printed.   Although I won’t have All my designs as patterns, I believe I can do many of them.  

I will be resting for a while, working on getting my paper patterns drawn out and printed and redesigning my website: http://www.sunnieandressdesigns.com When I get things in order (!!!) I’ll post information here …a pattern list, costs ( all patterns under 20.00) and how to order.     If you have a pattern request, just let me know and I’ll see if it is one I can do.

I hope by offering paper patterns for you to put on your own choice of backing that will help those of you who have asked me to offer them!   I appreciate everyone who has encouraged me over the years…thank you so much…!    🙂 **********************************************************

Here we go…The Painted Mermaid – FINISHED on Day 32…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂 mermaid700

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “Mystery-“Sea Life Celebration: The Painted Mermaid”/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 32 Finished!”

  1. Aww, now it all makes sense… She’s queen of the sea. You have done a great job of balancing your blues and other colors. I think it’s wonderful that you are making patterns available to hookers. Good luck with this new venture. Joe would be so proud of you.

    You deserve a good rest from hooking.
    JB

    1. Thank you, Julia! I really enjoyed doing this one! 🙂

      I have always said I “don’t do patterns” but enough people have asked me that I certainly should be able to do a few for those interested. We’ll see…it can’t be that difficult. …lol…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

