New Rug coming up! Halloween theme/rug hooking/Sunnie/hooked rugs

Well, I have had a nice rest…and thank goodness for resting too!   The temps here in Oregon around the Portland area have been sizzling!!!!   I’m so glad I got the mermaid finished in time…throwing that large rug around or having it on my lap (even with air conditioning!!!!) would be really tiring!!!!   (Now, I can just look at all that blue “water” and find it refreshing.)   🙂

However, while I work on getting my patterns ready to go, I wanted to hook on something a bit smaller. 

  I have found a lot of Halloween and harvest-themed sketches in my “ideas” notebooks and thought I’d do another Halloween theme that I think will be fun!   I’ll also offer a pattern for the new rug and I won’t have to go through all the steps I’ve been doing to get the other patterns ready to go!

Because I no longer have the patterns I used on almost every one of my rugs (remember, I tape copy paper together and transfer my own designs…and then change them along the way!!!)   Even if I have the paper pattern, it is so changed and garbled that I can’t use it for anyone else.

I have to photograph the rug if I still have it OR go to my computer and search for the photo (if I still have one!!!) draw the pattern from the photo and then draw it again to refine it and get it printed…!!   Whew!!!   …lol…

I simply recycle, reuse or shred my previous patterns or I would be awash in paper!!!  

Anyway…I am involved with a couple of other projects right now too, as well as the pattern project, but I want to start my new rug towards the end of next week.   I miss my hooking!!!!    🙂

So I’ll be excited to do this new design because I think it would make a fun smaller wall piece or table rug…or a banner for inside or outside the front door.

See you next week…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Rug coming up! Halloween theme/rug hooking/Sunnie/hooked rugs”

  1. Well, you have a good rest. Put your feet up with a tall glass of lemonade in this heat! I just came in from outside down in Cottage Grove…it’s starting to heat up out there. I haven’t been able to get back “into” hooking since we came back from a trip to Virginia…it lasted close to eight weeks.

    1. I know what you mean…! Sometimes after a “break”, especially a long one (!) it is hard to get back into the hooking groove again! For me, if it is hot, I just wilt…and working with all that wool is sometimes difficult.

      Thank goodness for air conditioning!!! If I have a smaller rug on my floor frame, I don’t have the weight of it on me. I can enjoy hooking and not be under a heavy wool rug!!!

      I hope you had a wonderful time on your vacation…we’ll both be more energetic when the temps cool down!
      Happy Hooking! Stay cool! Sunnie 🙂

  2. I’m looking forward to following this new Halloween rug on your frame. Good luck with the patterns venture.
    Have a great weekend. I’m still weeding and we’re getting more rain tomorrow. It’s hard to get good weather to weed.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. It’s a real hot one today…King City reads 101F and it is “muggy”. I’m staying inside, drinking seltzer water, lemonade and caff-free diet coke…so I may float away any minute from all the liquid…!!!!!

      Send the rain to us…we need it here and I’ll send the dry sunshine to you (perhaps not the 101 temp though)

      I need to do a little organizing now since I’m working on three projects at once! I’m almost up to half of all the projects You do at once!!!

      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

