New Mystery Rug-TTH-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4

Well here we go with the progress on Day 4…!  

I had this much finished when I took this first photo…but I got carried away and did more work on the background and on the lower border for the second progress photo!!!   I was just having too much fun!

TTH4

Below is the picture of the overdyed streaky plaid that I used for the section beneath the feet of the character.

TTH4overdyedplaidI love it hooked up but it does look like a bad dye job just as a piece of wool…!   …lol…

 

 

 

 

 

Here is my start on the bottom border…I just wanted to see what my border idea would look like!!!!!

TTH4x

Underneath that streaky brown, I’ve used a burgundy #5 cut line…then I’ve used a green/orange plaid, a purple texture, a yellow hand dyed, a gold and red plaid with a green plaid, an orange hand dyed,  a rust coloured hand-dyed and finished with 2 rows of #8 cut burgundy plaid!!!   Whew!!!!!   I like it, I like it…and it sets off the center section in the way that I want.

I’ll finish the bottom border for the next post. On this rug, I’m working from the bottom up and from the left side to the right side.

By the way, the rug is approx. 22 x 30…and I’ve added 1/2 inch to all sides for a frame.   (hooked in that #8 cut)  

(When I print the pattern, the pattern center and borders will be full sized but I ask that you add the 1/2 inch to all sides so that is perfectly on the straight of grain of your backing.)

I am still working on them and hoping to offer patterns by the end of July…working on Halloween and Christmas designs first and then adding the others.   I’ll post info here and on my website…www.sunnieandressdesigns.com

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-TTH-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4”

  1. I love the marble effect of that brown wool. Most of the time when I dye wool, I look for unevenly dyed results. I love the mottled patterns and it give great results when hooked unless I desire an even color.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. I know what you mean, Julia…I love mottled wools… and plaids, of course!!!!!
      I don’t think I have ever tried to dye an even colour!!!!!!! …lol…

      I think I’ve said before that I had a really terrible-looking piece of my experiment in dyeing wool that I just about threw away.
      It looked like one of my husband’s garage rags!!! It was just plain ugly. I kept it and one day I tried using some of it and it made a wonderful part of a field and meadow. So now I grab my “uglies” and try them…I am always surprised at where I can use them!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

