New Mystery Rug-TTH-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5

Quick post today… I did finish the bottom border with all those “layers” of colour!

This kind of border is a great way of getting rid of smaller pieces of wool…I combined small pieces of that gold plaid and green plaid by hooking them alternately in the wavy line.

I tried using some of that bright turquoise blue in the border at the start and knew right away that it wasn’t correct…!!!   I used that purple textured wool instead to give a “Halloween” feeling without taking away from my characters who are the stars of the show (so to speak!!!)   🙂

If a border colour calls too much attention to itself…(unless that is what is wanted)…it simply takes attention away from the center motifs.   We always need to decide what is of greater (and lessor) importance in our rug designs.  

Here is Progress on Day 5…I’m going to try out the right hand border and bottom corner for tomorrow, a well as some more on the left border!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

TTH5

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-TTH-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5”

  1. Your border looks lovely. I’m still trying to figure out what that plunger is doing in your Halloween rug. Could it be that the witch uses a vacuum cleaner instead of a broom? Knowing you, it wouldn’t surprise me the least. lol…

    I’m having difficulty getting started on my rug. Finding the time is an issue in the summer. There are always priorities.
    Hook on.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    1. Hey, maybe I’m fooling you and it really IS a toilet plunger!!!!! …lol…
      Now that would be a funny design… a witch vacuuming up a lot of little ghosts!!!!!
      Maybe next time! 🙂

      Yes, you have such lovely flowers, gardens etc. that I know it must be hard to get “settled” into summertime hooking inside!

      I really love late autumn and winter for hooking! It feels so good to be snug and warm inside when it is raining or snowing and cold outside! Working with wool is really delightful then!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Sunnie, I have a piece of linen backing near the sewing machine waiting for me but it’s been so warm and I’ve been planting some Heliotropes and Gazenias that I started from seeds this winter and I needed to get them in the ground. So much to do but right now, I’m enjoying a nice ale that my son in law gave me as a gift and it’s made on PEI. Very tasty on a warm evening.

        My hooking is getting nearer and nearer.hehe.
        Hugs.
        JB

Leave a Reply

