Mystery “Trick or Treat-Halloween”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 13 FINISHED

Hooray…This rug is finished!  🙂

I’ve had such a great time…I do love designing and hooking Halloween rugs…mostly because I can use all the colours from primitive to garish brights and they all work in a silly, Halloween rug!!!   I use lots of leftover woolworms too!   …lol…

As you can see, I switched to a different plaid background where Cedric’s candlelight would make that area lighter.   It is a plaid called “Tobacco Row” and I ordered it from Rebecca at the Wool Studio.   The other wools I’ve used in this rug came from many of the same people in my “Painted Mermaid” post…

Sun and Wind Farm – The Wool Studio – Katie Knoelke –  Darlene(Olympic Wool Works)-Winterberry Cabin- Joan Wood- the old tattered flag- Heavens to Betsy- Lake country Woolens -Spirit Mountain Primitives- woolnwares, etc.   (some of these are on Etsy or Ebay) 🙂   I’ll check to see if I forgot anyone!!!!!

Here is the story again if you did not see my last post…

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“TRICK OR TREAT-HALLOWEEN”

“Once upon a time, in a land far away (well, maybe not so far away!!!), two youngsters were growing up.   Cedric’s family was tall, rather thin and many of them had pale faces.   Percival’s family members could become very large (if they lived long enough!) and they were often quite colourful in appearance.

Although it was unlikely, these two became friends and “best buddies” as the years went by.   It was strange to see Percival grow so tall (and so wide!!) and Cedric to lose some height each year.   But that was to be expected…given their family characteristics.   🙂

Percival was rather shy and liked sitting in one place in the garden, soaking up the sun and thinking.   An ancestor of his was a great thinker…and she was known for discovering that wonderful mathematical number “pumpkin pi”…!!!   (we know this formula today…3.1416, or 3 cups pumpkin, 1tsp. cinnamon, 4 cups sugar, 1 tsp cloves, 6 oz evaporated milk, etc.)

On the other hand, Cedric was a real charmer, outgoing, very bright and with a light touch.    His ancestors happened to be in the room in 1966 when “The Doors” a 60’s rock band, introduced their song…”Light my Fire” to the world!   Ever since, when Cedric meets a new lady friend, he can’t help belting out “Come on baby, light my fire” to impress her!”

By now, you have realized that, of course, Percival is Percival Pumpkin and Cedric is Cedric Candlestick!   (and you will have figured out why Cedric’s height decreases and Percival grows taller and wider!!!)

Cedric has finally persuaded Percival to come with him Trick or Treating this year…so, when finished,  this rug is what you will see when you open the door to them!  

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  I am working on the full-size paper pattern for this rug now….and I believe I can keep all of my full size patterns, no matter what the size (except the really large ones like the -” 2 Grumpy Lions” -and the -” Painted Mermaid”) at $14.00 + 2.54 shipping.  Will keep you posted….I want to get these patterns ready by the end of this month, if possible.

“TRICK or TREAT- HALLOWEEN” rug – finished!    Happy Hooking!

TTHfinished

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

8 thoughts on “Mystery “Trick or Treat-Halloween”-Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 13 FINISHED”

  1. Wow! You are amazing! Love it !! Very fast u are! Great sunnie,, you are so good with colors,,,,, thanks for your stories and fun mats,,,,

    1. I appreciate you visiting and encouraging me, Elaine! It is always nice to know that others enjoy the work we do. (and it’s nice that others put up with all my silliness!!!!) lol…

      I do have so much fun!!!! Happy Hooking to you! Sunnie 🙂

  2. Sunnie, you did it again. It’s definitely your style and no one else. It looks terrific and fun for halloween. It’s been fun following and now I can see that silly plunger wasn’t a plunger at all. I think that most of your fun is keeping us guessing.

    A beautiful rug. I hope that you have a restful weekend.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Thank you Julia…you are always so nice to put up with all my silliness and funny designs! 🙂
      I hope you have a lovely weekend too…although I know that farm chores often don’t have “weekends”!
      I know your garden and flowers are beautiful this summertime season…!!!
      Enjoy!!!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

    1. Thank you Linda…I am having a great time and I’m glad you like them too!

      I am working like crazy on getting the Halloween patterns finished so I can get them and the “3 Snow Guys” winter pattern out first. 🙂

      I’m sure I will be better organized later now that I know better what to do with getting the patterns done and printed… and the printing folks are helpful as well..!!!

      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

