Mystery-“Halloween Hotel’s Holiday Dance”-Sunnie/rug hooking/halloween rugs-Day 15

I’m almost there…I think I will be able to finish tomorrow!!!!!   Hooray!

Now here is/was the story of this rug when I started…!!!!!!!

Chauncy Purrshing Rattermouser, “wealthy young man about town”, found a great dance companion when he met “Madcap” Myrtle Mae Mopp!   Myrtle Mae is the daughter of billionaire, Dustin Mopp, President of the R. U. Kleen Company.   She lives in a wonderfully decorated bucket in the penthouse on the top floor of the R.U. Kleen Building.

Myrtle Mae loves dancing and dresses in highly fashionable outfits…a perfect dance partner for Chauncy!   (His favourite dance is the “Mop, Mop-A-Do Wop” where he holds Myrtle Mae by the handle on her head and swings her around in the air, a move that delights the other dancers   (and dusts the light fixtures!)!   Her favourite dance is the “Black Cat Boogie” as she and Chauncy can really clean the floor with that one!!!)

The rug shows them on a festive night, coming through the gate at the entrance to the “Halloween Hotel”…ready for a night of dancing delight!   As I did on the “Trick or Treat” rug, there is a simple inanimate object (candlestick, mop, etc) coming alive and pairing up with the main character.   

Of course, that was before Oswaldo and Prunetta entered the picture!!!!    🙂

By adding two more characters,  there are now too many focal points.    The eye jumps from the three, strong-coloured characters first (Chauncy and pumpkins) and Myrtle Mae seems more like an afterthought…!   My wrought iron entry is not as I want it, the characters seem too close together for their size and the colours that I’ve “tweaked” to make a more even distribution across the rug don’t seem to me to be as effective as my first design.   …lol…

I think this is a great example of redesigning gone flooey!!!!   Of course it is “OK”, not a horrible disaster…but it doesn’t satisfy Me.   🙂

However…

I love the character of Chauncy (he’s a strong design on his own) and Oswaldo and Prunetta’s budding “relationship”!!!!!   So, I’ll change the rug design to Chauncy, the “wealthy young man about town”, arriving through the gate with both hands holding sparklers…looking forward to a grand night of dancing with many young ladies!    …I’ll center Chauncy under the candy corn lights,  and Oswaldo and Prunetta will be there with him.   I’ll move Prunetta into the rug center, lower right, perhaps on a little stand and change the angle of their eyes…(Oswaldo looking up and Prunetta looking down.)

Then I can redo my right side wrought iron and all will be a funny happy rug!

I think that will make a really fun Halloween rug!!!  

I’ll adjust my own rug after taking a finished picture and center Chauncy a bit more on my” Halloween Hotel Dance” pattern.    I am NOT going to take him all out and center him on my – already done- rug!!!!!!!

Perhaps Myrtle Mae Mopp will stay on a variation of this if I take out the pumpkins!!!!!   lol    Or she could be on another rug someday with her friends, Bernard Buckett, Durwood Dustpann and Beaulah Broome!   🙂

Here is Progress on Day 15…  the Left side of the rug!!!!       Happy Hooking! Sunnie  🙂

HHHDay15

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

1 thought on “Mystery-“Halloween Hotel’s Holiday Dance”-Sunnie/rug hooking/halloween rugs-Day 15”

  1. I’ll be waiting to see this rug. I’m getting antsy already. You have a such a great imagination Sunnie. You have lots to deal with these days. Those satin roses must be wonderful. You are so talented.

    Hugs.
    JB

Leave a Reply

