Mystery – “Halloween Hotel’s Holiday Dance”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 16 FINISHED

Well finally!!!   I am laughing at myself because I thought I had finished the rug last evening and was about to take a picture when I realized I had not hooked the rest of the #8 strips (2 strips) border!!!  

I was pretty tired so I just laughed and went to bed…got up this morning and finished the border and a few other tweaks…along with sewing more satin (!!!), computer work,  reading over the 26 page report of the house inspector, etc.

I’m doing too many things at once!!!!!   🙂  

This has been, even with all the “life-interventions”, a really fun  and happy rug to do!

However, I am going to post the pictures today, even though I have a little more work to do on this rug.  

FIRST is the picture showing most of the rug design I started with…the added pumpkin characters are blocked out.   All you have to do on Picture 1 is imagine a small pumpkin (no face) to the left of Chauncy’s foot…where Oswaldo is now!    Also, I left the dark colour on the “jewels” shown on the wrought iron fence post on the left side.   The jewels on the right post are much better in giving a halloween look!  

I will change the left side ones but wanted you to see that the orange and yellow look much better to me…without the purple to balance the colours in Myrtle’s outfit.

Myrtle Mae Mopp shows up on Picture 1 as a rather goofy-looking character…especially when contrasted with Chauncy!   But that is the effect I wanted.   🙂   They show up as a couple!

HHHDfinishedfirst

PICTURE 1 ABOVE…….

Now to Picture 2…

When you see picture 2 , you see how the addition of Oswaldo and Prunetta make the eye jump from Chauncy to the two pumpkins…and then to Myrtle Mae.   Now, she looks tired and “faded”.   The strong colours of the pumpkins and the cat come forward and even her “high fashion” outfit (!!!) can’t compete with them.   To my eye the rug is just a bit too crowded.   The candy corn lights are really bright too, and that adds to Myrtle’s washed out look.  

Also, you can visualize the two wrought iron posts looking like the left one…with those bright orange and yellow jewels!!!…when I move Prunetta into the lower right center section. (after taking Myrtle Mae out when I make the Chauncy and pumpkins pattern.

PICTURE 2 BELOW…. So away we go!   I think Chauncy will be fine centered and by himself, with sparklers in each hand, heading for the dance and a night of fun!   I hope you enjoy the rug…I’m now working on the pattern…this is what the right side of the pattern will look like on this second version of the rug.   (I’ll also redraft the version with Myrtle Mae Mopp too.)

patternwpumpkinz

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

HHHDfinishedpumpkins

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “Mystery – “Halloween Hotel’s Holiday Dance”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 16 FINISHED”

  1. Oh Sunnie, your rug is fantastic. The title says it all. Happy Halloween. I can picture the cat dancing with the ghost and ghost by nature are supposed to be washed out anyway. I love , love those two happy pumpkins and wouldn’t change a thing. I don’t find it overcrowded.

    It was fun to hook and fun to see it done.

    You have been very busy… and I’ve been busy here too and managed to hook a bit this evening and harvested yellow and green beans. They tasted lovely.

    Hugs,
    JUlia

    1. I love working with the strong halloween colours in these rugs. And they can use up a lot of leftovers too!!!!!
      Thank you for coming with me on these goofy adventures and giving me encouragement…! 🙂
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Wow, sunnie ,, love it!!!! How u make it so fun,,,,,,?? Mixing textures and brights!! Must try doing that,,,,
    You have alot on your plate,,,, soundsclike u will be great!!
    Nice to get your posts,
    Thanks,, love your mat!!!
    I keep looking at it ,,,,,

    1. Thank you for coming on these little silly adventures with me, Elaine! I am having fun and it is great to experiment… mixing those bright halloween colours with plaids! We can do anything on a halloween rug!!!!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

