New “SABI” Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4

SABIday4exI am really having fun on this rug…!!!   I know I say that every time, but rug hooking IS really fun!   🙂

I wanted to mention that we had a “copyright” discussion on Rug Hooking Daily (a free forum for rug hookers) and I wanted to mention a couple of things here.   As I have said many times before, I use either my own brain (!!!) for my designs OR I use a lot of sources to inspire my rugs!    However,  I rarely “copy” an art piece of any kind that I see.   I don’t use sources that are not in the public domain and usually go back to the 1800’s and before or to ancient work for inspiration.   Or I use Dover books where designs are free to use and use parts of them if I wish.

I still get questions about copyright from others so here is a bit about it.   When in doubt about a rug or a design, ask permission from the artist or check to see if your chosen design is in the public domain.

You will note that I DO copyright some of my rugs but I can’t copyright my “reproduction” of an antique rug that is already in the public domain.   Like the rug below.

1642welcome - CopyI hooked this reproduction to look a lot like the original…you see it a lot in “primitive” books, etc.   If the rugs were put side by side, you could see that mine is a copy of the original.   If you did not want to draw the public domain design yourself and you asked me to do it on linen or whatever, I could charge you for my work and the linen but I could not claim it as my design and keep anyone else from doing the same thing!!!   🙂

So, here we go with Progress on Day 4…This is an odd photo post but I should have another  photo later today!!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie   🙂

SABIday4SABIday5cbc

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “New “SABI” Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4”

  1. I think it so much more fun to design my own rugs. So There are copy cats everywhere…

    I’ll have to wait this one out, I have absolutely no brainy idea as to what it could be. No hints means no guesses. Hook on Sunnie.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. You do great rugs of your own designs…!!! I still remember your “Forest Secrets” rug and I loved your Grandmother and Grandfather rugs too!

      I agree…I would rather do my “own thing” than copy someone else’s rug. 🙂 We have so many places to get ideas or dream up our own!
      Now that the “start” of this rug has begun, it should get more interesting!!!!!!!! lol
      Of course, I can see the whole thing…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Oh dear Sunnie, you’re such a tease and I guess that you’re getting fun out of that too, heh… Give us a little hint …p-l-e-a-s-e… lol…
        Hugs,
        JB

Leave a Reply

