New SABI Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9

I think I spend more time looking through woolworms and scrounging for small pieces of wool than I do hooking on this piece!!!!!!   However, it is my own fault for trying to see if I can do a reasonable design with mostly leftovers!   🙂

When we see some quilts from the past, especially scrap quilts, we see many that are geometric and many that are just random shapes.   Those are often great for scrappy hooked rugs too.   But once in awhile, we find quilts and rugs from the past that are delightful in their “quirky” designs.   Those are the ones that draw my attention…and I wonder about the person(s) who made them.  

I love to look at the wonderful geometrics, but as I always say, I prefer not to do them!   I feel more constrained if I have to follow a shape or do too many similar motifs.   This rug does have a lot of the same motifs but since I sketched them on the backing, they are all a bit different…with some a bit lopsided, etc.   Rather “freewheeling”, I guess!!!!!!   So they just reflect how I am feeling when hooking on that particular day!   🙂

It isn’t that I like to be sloppy, but I do really enjoy not worrying about anything and not feeling that I have to have perfection or my work is not “good”.   If I enjoy it, that is my main objective.   🙂 

At least I have given you a bit more hints today!   I am also trying to combine softer more “primitive” colours with bright colours in a pleasing way.   Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t…but I am trying to call attention to my main focus point with the colour changes (plus I am running out of some of my wool pieces as I work!)

So here is Progress on Day 9…it is true that if I had colour-planned this in the beginning, I would not be taking so much time hunting for wool shades that will “go” with what I have already done.   But I guess some of us just try to make things harder for ourselves!!!!!!    Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

9SABIday

SABI9days

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New SABI Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9”

    1. I am really getting a workout on colours in this rug!!! 🙂 I had to laugh at myself today as I was so intent on doing my center background with the small amount of wool that I had left that I hooked right over a leaf that was supposed to be green! (Taking it out gave me a couple more strips to finish the background with only 2 or 3 strips left…!!!!!)
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

    1. Well it certainly has the word “Garden” in the long title!!! 🙂 Yes, I am really hooking a lot of padula flowers in this piece…but the rug has a message that goes deeper than the garden! (Although the message does not really apply to me, in later years I have been blessed with special gifts!)
      Am I helping? Happy Hooking! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

