New SABI Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 11&12

For the last couple of days I have been hooking more flowers and lots of light background…which takes a Lot of time!!!!!!!   🙂                    

 But I am now getting close to the final hooking area and finishing a couple more words so I hope to finish this rug in the next few days.   I have said that I am really enjoying the challenge of this piece, limiting myself to large pieces of wool only for the backgrounds and then searching for leftover woolworms and small pieces to do the motifs and the lettering.  

However, it is more time-consuming that I thought it would be because of the width of the leftovers I have!   Some of the strips are a #8 cut   (which I used quite a bit in years past) so I either have to hand-cut them narrower or search for #6 and below leftovers.   Also, the Townsend cutter that I have has the long cartridges, cutting 6 #6 strips at a time.

So here is Progress on Days 11 and 12…I am now starting on more dark background today…and more flowers!!!!!!!   At least you have figured out that this rug has something to do with gardens and flowers!!!   When I do the final showing of the words, you’ll understand what you will see in the body of the rug!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

SABI1112

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “New SABI Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 11&12”

  1. Sunnie,,,,, love this!! Colors are so pretty,,,,, cant wait to see it,,,, thanks for posting it,,,,,

  2. I see this one has a light background…can it be that Spring is in your heart? Missed you at the Salem hook in yesterday. Two of us were working on our Halloween patterns and received lots of interest including a gal from Virginia that was visiting.

    1. Yes…Spring and relationships are the heart of this rug!!!!! 🙂 I am still busy getting my house organized, sewing curtains, etc. and staying close to home.

      Once I get all settled in, I’ll start my search for a place to get patterns printed here in Vancouver so I don’t have to go clear into Portland or Tigard, etc. to get more done. 🙂

      Since my cottage home is totally different from my apartment (and the rooms are smaller!!!) I’ve had more to do and figure out than just moving in with no adjustments. But…I’m having fun doing it…!!!

      Hope you are having fun with the Halloween rug! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

