New SABI Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 13

Hooray!!!!!   I am almost finished with this rug and it has been fun…but so many flowers!!!!!   There are 30 smaller flowers and I almost forgot the 2 tulips!!!!!

Now that I live in a cottage, I will be trying to have a “cottage garden”…and since I have seasonal allergies, it must be a garden that does not need a lot of work!!!!   But I want it to look nice…with a lot of pink, yellow and white!!!   (I was thinking of my friend, Julia, as I worked on this as she has so many beautiful flowers and plants at her home…just wonderful.   (see them at her blog “Of Petals and Wool”).

OF course, hooking a garden or hooking plants, trees and flowers does not trigger my allergies!!!!   So I am safe there!

Here’s a little more about the rug.   To remind you, it is 24 x 39 so it is not a little piece.   I said that I had been looking at antique rugs, antique samplers and painted Polish folk art in the way of “bride’s boxes”.   The padula flowers on each side of the rug are a favourite motif on samplers, rugs and even painted dower chests.   On the bride’s boxes, there is usually a center figure of a woman or of a couple.

I also wanted this rug to be a “scrappy” rug, using up leftover woolworms and little pieces in my stash.   I had a lot of more primitive colours and some brights leftover too.   Now was the hard part of my challenge…how to make something that looked nice but used up mostly leftovers.   I did use larger pieces of wool for the three-four backgrounds.   (I ran out of the middle background and had to improvise.)

I had been thinking about doing a rug celebrating sisters!   Now I do not have a sister (I do have a great brother)!  That is why I say that this rug does not apply to me…except that I have been blessed over the years with wonderful sister-in-laws!!!!   So I can claim the rug with sister-in-laws!   🙂

I wanted the rug to have an “organic” look, the gold and brown plaid background reminded me of the soil needed to grow plants and also those backgrounds could be tree trunks.   Even the containers that the flowers seem to be planted in reminded me of eggs, broken open with something living growing out of them.   The center area of black and white reminded me of native American weavings (and used up some space where I ran out of center background).   Also, the black and white drew more attention to the center where the focus of the rug is located.

I thought this anonymous saying about sisters was a great title for the rug and although blossoms, like sisters are not exactly alike (even twins seem to have some differences) they are beautiful just as they are!   This rug was sketched on the backing and is done in a naïve folk style, including the lettering which is not perfect.   I had fun working on this “SABI…..” challenge.

SistersTitle2

I believe I will have the whole rug finished by tomorrow!!!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New SABI Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 13”

  1. Oh Sunnie, I think that this rug is just what we need to bring on spring. I can’t wait to see it and thank you for mentioning my blog name. That’s very sweet of you. Of course, you know that I’m dying to see that new rug.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. You are welcome…I’ve had you on my blog list on the left for quite a while…so I always hope visitors will check out some of my favourite Blogs themselves!!! 🙂

      I can feel Spring here and some of the trees, etc. are beginning to bloom! Hooray! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

