New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1

Here we go!!!!   However, you will not be surprised when I tell you that I changed my mind in the middle of preparing for the design so I am doing something different…!!!   🙂

This piece still has the medieval component to it but instead of being a  more traditional design I decided to do something “blended-with-a-bit-of-humor”!   As you know, I like to combine motifs and ideas from a lot of different sources.   This rug combines a medieval design with traces of vintage decorative painting, ethnic folk art, sampler designs and fraktur images.  

I wanted to use my newly purchased wool for the background but I thought I might also be able to use up more woolworms and small pieces of wool in the design.   I was thinking about Heidi’s challenge on Rug Hooking Daily and I might be able to do that with this piece but I’ll have to measure it to see if it falls within the size rules.   If I use enough leftover worms I might be able to use it for the “Rug Deworming Group” too!!!  

I’ve said many times before that I love to use plaids for backgrounds because of the “life” and/or “motion” they give to the piece.   This wool reminds me of the colours of pancakes and maple syrup (I must be thinking of Joe and Vermont…!) and I think it gives a more lively look than a solid background would.   Also, I think a solid background would be more “formal” and I want this rug to be happy and fun. 

I will take a picture of the plaid wool tomorrow and put it on the next post…as I want you to see it.   It is from “Heavens to Betsy” and is called “Milk and Honey”.   

I know you are always thrilled at the start of these rugs to see the great artistry that I put in at the beginning!!!!!!!   LOL   If you believe that, I have a bridge I want to sell you.   So here we go on Day 1:

FLDDay1Happy Hooking!!!   Sunnie  🙂

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

6 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1”

  1. Sunnie,,,,, good to see u have started a mat! Good for you,,,, you always do interestjng work,,,, looking forward to ur msny posts,, thanks,,,, take care,,,

  2. Sunnie, glad you are back Hooking and that your move and decorating your new cottage has gone well. A reader.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Sunnie do you have any of your designs for sale? I am interested in the Halloween ones. Thank you.

    1. HI Linda: yes, I do. I was getting set up to sell my full-size paper designs when my move happened…!!! I now have to find another source close to me for getting them printed since I’ve moved into another state!!! Also, I am no longer near a Post Office so I have to get the logistics of that sorted out…!!! lol

      I’ve been so busy with the house and garden work that I haven’t searched out the printer yet.

      I do have some of the Halloween ones available. My rug hooking friends gave me input on the price for full-size paper patterns and said I should add the postage into the price to make it easier for me and the customer!!!

      I only have a few in stock but here’s what I have:
      3 of Halloween Friends and Fun – 24 1/2 x 29 1/2 inches
      2 of Trick or Treat Halloween – 21 1/2 x 30 1/2
      3 of Halloween Hotel’s Holiday Dance – 20 1/2 x 27
      1 of Old Crows Night Out – 13 1/2 x 24 inches
      all full-sized paper patterns

      I have added the postage amounts in and the patterns are $19.00 each postpaid. I did want to keep them under $20.00 if I could, so we’ll see if this works when I find a new printer for the patterns. 🙂
      I believe you can see all the rugs here in my previous posts… but if you will send me an email address I can send the pictures to you. If you decide on anything, just let me know and we’ll correspond by email.
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

