New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 2

Here we go on another part of the rug!   I am working with cuts #5 and #6 for most of this rug…but I have to go into the #3 and #4 for some of this tiny work.   I am fiddling with this motif as I think my first trial isn’t quite right so some reverse hooking is in order!!!!!

I have said before that I sometimes use the public domain, permission-free designs I find, ” just as they are” and sometimes I use only part of the motif.   If I draw  a goofy-looking cow but I don’t like the feet, I might look at public domain vintage illustrations and try to find ideas for the cow’s feet…!!!!   This is why only working with public domain designs from the past (1800’s and before) is important for me.   I don’t want to be copying any artist or designer working today or “borrow” from any work under copyright.   

If you are a new rug hooker and think you “just can’t draw anything” (but you really want to!!!) see if the Dover books or art from the past can give you ideas.   I know I’ve told you that I had one of my rug designs all finished but I felt there was something wrong with it.   I finally realized that it was one arm on a figure.   So I went into medieval permission-free designs in some of my Dover books and found an arm!!!   I replaced my arm drawing and was very happy with the result…!

As you know, there are so many rug patterns offered for sale that you don’t ever have to do your own designs…but if you want to, look to the past for ideas and inspiration.   🙂

Here is the progress for today’s post…Hooray!   Isn’t that just the cutest thing?

FLDDay2plaidmandhhooked

Whoops, almost forgot…I wanted to give you a picture of the background wool and a picture of some of it hooked that I did yesterday!   Here we go!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

MilkandHoneyplaid

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

