New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4

I think on the 4th or 5th day of starting a new rug I really get a good picture of what the piece can become!!!   When I hang the rug on my display board and sit back to look at it I can really see if what I have done works well.

I can change parts of the rest of the rug if I wish, add more colours to put in a “spark” or see if something I’ve done looks out of place.   I had to make a change today taking out 2 lines in a motif and making it one line instead.   The 2 lines got lost in the background…so the one line shows up better.

I’m not afraid to change parts of the design if something else will look better in that space!   I find it exciting but others have told me that it would drive them nutty to be constantly changing things on a rug!!!!   🙂

I have chosen about 6-8 different reds (photo 1) that I hope will blend together well but also add some definition where I need it.   As you know, I skip around on a rug, working in different places to test my design and colours.   I always say “This one is such fun!”…but it really is and I am happy with how it is coming along!    I hope you are having fun too!   I’m delighted to be hooking once again!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

FLDDay4

 

FLDay6

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 4”

Leave a Reply

