New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 7

I’m so glad I have a covered board to clothespin my “rug-in-progress” to so that I can sit back and look at it from a distance!!!

Today I have been trying to find the right colour for a motif and several that I tried did Not work!   I finally redesigned a part of the motif so that it worked better and seemed right…and that finally worked!!!   Whew!   Now it might not look very impressive to you…but the photo with the star is the result of my 2-hour struggle.   I hooked colours in, took them out,  draped different wools over the top of the rug and looked at them, tried another, etc.   Finally found  colours that worked and did what I wanted them to do in that space!!!!!   Hooray!!!  🙂

The second photo shows the addition of the strange colour combination of the rusty reds and then several purples are added.   I am hoping that, when everything is done, it will look good…but that is a hope, not a fact…..!!!!!   

So…here is Progress on Day 7…I’m still pondering another area of the rug where it will be a little tricky with the colours, but all will become clear in good time (I hope!!!)

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂FLDDay7FLDDay7b

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 7”

  1. Wow,,,, isnt it amazing,,, no matter how long we hook,,, we still have to do that sometimes!! Try different colors,,,,, done it myself!enjoy ur posts,,, love the colors j see,,,,

    1. Yep…sometimes I know exactly what I need…and then there are some other times!!!!! 🙂 I remember deciding upon a primitive black border for a primitive rug many years ago. My rug hooking friends agreed that it would be perfect.
      However, when I hooked part of the border and hooked around one corner…instead of showing off the rug design it just screamed “large dark border”!!!!!!! So I took it out and hooked a border colour that wasn’t even in the rug (I was told not to do that…!) 🙂 and it turned out great. lol Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

    1. HI Carole…I am happy with it now but had to laugh at myself for having so much trouble about one little part of the rug! Thankfully, I don’t get too upset about these little glitches…sometimes they turn out to be just what is needed to enhance the design! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

