New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs- Day 8

Hooray…I’m zipping right along with my hooking!   I’m trying to do a bit of gardening and yard-tidying too while the weather is cool.   I just can’t work outside on a hot day…and I think my allergies bother me more when combined with heat.   (Or it could be that I’m just wimpy!!!!!!!)   🙂

It’s always fun when you are working on something you really like…and this experiment is coming along and looking just the way I want it for the story I am telling myself.    (You know that I tell myself stories about the theme of a lot of my rugs…yes???)

As a child I had a very  creative imagination which worried my father a little (I was his first child…and my brother did not come along until 6 years later!).   Mother told me (when I was an adult) that when I was about 2 or so, Dad came home from work and found me sitting under the dining table rowing an imaginary boat and talking to the imaginary “people” on the boat with me about our destination and how we all needed to work together on our journey.   Mom said he came into the kitchen and asked her “Are you sure she’s alright?”   Mom just laughed and told him not to worry, I was fine.    ( I wonder if my children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren would agree with Mom!!!!!)   🙂

I have always had a sense of humor and loved plays on words too.   I learned to read long before entering kindergarten so part of my early years of reading fairy tales, etc. probably encouraged my love of stories!   (I’ve always loved a touch of silliness too!!)

So here we go on Day 8…tomorrow I think I will have most of the left side of the rug finished – flowers, leaves and background.  So I will have the top, bottom and the right side to do as well as finish some in the center.    From these pictures I’m showing you it looks like a large red slug in a garden…but that isn’t it…!!!!!   …lol…    Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

FLDDay8

 

 

FLDDay8aa

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs- Day 8”

  1. Loving your reds and blues,,,, ur colors look so rich and vibrant, ,,,, and always love the backgrounds!,,, great story about ur childhod, sunnie,,,,
    Thanks,,,,

Leave a Reply

