New Mystery Rug-2016-“FLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 14

Well “life” intervened a bit yesterday but I still had time to do some hooking!!!   Since much of it was filling in background, I thought I’d wait until this morning to post a bit more!

I have been thinking about hooking initials since I posted yesterday and found I was thinking even more about how to creatively put them into a rug!   Maybe hooking initials made from small fish into a mermaid rug or a sea rug…or making the initials out of little balls in a juggler rug…or out of flowers in a floral, etc.   There are many alphabets already done with illustrations, flowers, etc. so ideas can be found everywhere.   We can get Dover books filled with them.

Now I know that most people wouldn’t get all excited about the initials that they put on their rugs (!!!!!).   They are mostly interested in hooking a delightful primitive or a wonderful floral or a fun folk art or a personal photo and don’t sit around thinking about initials!!!!!!!   But, of course, I would.   (Since I am an old lady, it doesn’t take a lot to amuse me!!!!!!)   …lol…    🙂

I’ve been asked where I start hooking on my rugs.    Sometimes it is the center working out to all sides.   Often, it is starting with one side and working across to the other.   One of my favourite rugs started at the bottom and worked up to the top.   Usually, if I have lettering at the top, I do that last.   I think it depends upon what motif I am excited to see first…!  

Also, I have done rugs where I hooked the faces first so I could see who I am dressing (!!!) and rugs where I did the face almost last.   I think I just enjoy being free to start and work on a rug without thinking that I “should” be doing this or doing it that way.   After all, if I make a mistake, I can always correct it later.   (If I am hooking a Cat in fancy clothing and decide closer to the finish that I would rather make it a Mouse in fancy clothing, I can simply change the head and feet to a mouse!!!!!!!!)

But enough about all that…Here is Progress on Day 14.   I am working on finishing the center and the lower right pond corner.   I have another fish to do and more water there.   Then, I will work on the right side and finish up at the top of the rug.   On this rug, there isn’t any profound reason for doing it this way…I just haven’t decided what to do at the top of the rug yet…!!!!!!!!!!     Happy Hooking!      Sunnie  🙂 

FLDay14hgh

 

FLDay14rf

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

