New Mystery Rug-2016-“YMMFLD”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 17

Well, this has been  an interesting few days!!!!!   

We’ve seen a lot of political activity lately, plus natural disasters like fires in the West and flooding in areas farther east, the tragedy in Orlando and other areas of the world and now Britain’s exit from the EU.   Personally, I have been through a difficult experience with the plumbing company I hired to do some work for me on my home, updating some of my plumbing.  

Now my plumbing difficulty does not rise to the crisis level of the other world happenings (!!!!!) but I have to say that it was an exceedingly irritating experience.   Although the work was done well by the plumber and crew, the company office was terrible to deal with!   I have never dealt with a company of any sort whose communication and customer service was worse.   When I called to ask questions or try to find out when the inspections would be or when they would fill in the trench in my front lawn, I was either given a day to stay home and wait for the inspector or told that they would check and call me right back.   In both cases, the call did not come and/or the whole day was lost waiting for an inspector who did not come.   I would find later that the inspection was not even scheduled for that day.    This went on day after day.   One of my pet peeves (I have a few) is people who do not listen to what you are asking or saying before they start talking over you.   People in a business need to listen to the customer so that they know what is being said…!!!   You would think they would know that.   Thankfully, I am finished with them now and will not use them again.    😦   

Thank you for listening to me whine…I feel better now!   🙂

So…… while I was dealing with the incompetent and snotty plumbing office and watching all the news unfold on TV…I was also working on my rug!!!!   🙂

I told you that the top would be a bit tricky as I was not quite sure what I was going to do.   I had the idea but hadn’t gotten to the specifics yet.   Also, I was going to use a blue for the sky (sky above, water below) and thought that I could use some of the other blues used in the flowers and the fishpond.   I thought that would be best as I did not want the sky to stand out too much, just as I did not want the pond to be too dominant.

So I have hooked, pulled out and re-hooked parts of the sky with 4 of the wools I used in the pond and flowers.!!!!!!!   None of them looked right!     So…..I found a blue plaid that was not in the rest of the rug at all and was rather dull and it seems to work!   Hooray!!!

*******************************

I am getting close to the finish line!   I said that this piece was part of a challenge on Rug Hooking Daily where we were to take a song or a character from a literary work, etc and interpret it in our own way.   Since I was doing an experiment with this rug anyway, it actually fit in with the title of a popular song from 1976 by Leo Sayer.   (YMMFLD)    The center figure is a Medieval illustration that I first saw many years ago in one of my Dover books.   As I’ve said, I am combining simple flowers often seen on bright Mexican, Czech and Italian pottery with the Medieval figure and adding Ancient Art used to illustrate the sky above and the earth and water below.   I thought this combination would work well with the plaid I had chosen for the background.

*******************************

I should be finished with the piece in a couple of days and I really have enjoyed it a lot (except for the pulling out..!)   So here is Progress on Day 17.   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

FLDday17nnn

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

