New Mystery Rug-2016-YMMFLD/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 18 FINISHED!

Here we go!   This rug was such fun to do!   🙂    Hooray, it’s FINISHED…!   🙂

The Experiment for me…to blend adapted motifs from ancient art – “Sky.Earth.Water”

with a medieval illustration – “The Musician” –

with “Flower Designs” from Czech/ Italian/ Mexican pottery –

with Pennsylvania Dutch fraktur images – “The Fish”

and put it all on a plaid background wool from Heavens to Betsy’s shop called “Milk and Honey”!!!    🙂

As I designed this piece, I also thought about a little story about the musician looking at his beloved on the other side of the garden and breaking into a dance!   Leo Sayer’s song from 1976 – “You Make Me Feel Like Dancing” popped into my head and I thought I could also use this rug for the challenge on Rug Hooking Daily!    (a rug design inspired by a song or literary work)

As you know, I said earlier that there was a part of the rug that showed what happens when you don’t pay attention to what you are doing!   The figure is so focused on his beloved that he has danced right over the water and is in danger of sinking into the pond with the fish!!!

There are 2 or 3 more of these medieval figures and I thought they were funny when I first saw them in one of my Dover books.   I loved the little flags on their shoes and their baggy bloomers!   Bloomers reminded me of flowers and I started thinking about putting him/them in a garden setting.   The rug design then went from there to bringing in motifs from several time periods and countries, adapting them and putting them all together in a rug on a plaid background.

So here is Progress on Day 18 – FINISHED..!   Thank you for coming along on this adventure with me.   I know we are all busy with other things this summer but I appreciate your visiting me here!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

“YOU MAKE ME FEEL LIKE DANCING” rug-2016

FLDFINISH2016cop

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-2016-YMMFLD/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 18 FINISHED!”

  1. Oh ,its soooo great!! Love ur colors,, as usual,,,, you always know the right colors to pop on a textured background!! So great! Wow,, u are so fast!!
    Thanks for sharing,,, enjoyed it so much,,,,

Leave a Reply

