Starting A New Rug after July 4th, 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs – Halloween rug

The Next Rug…

As you know, I have been having fun experimenting with different motif combinations and having fun designing pieces with my own and antique motifs combined.

This next rug will be done a bit differently…it isn’t really a “Mystery” because you know it is a Halloween rug and I am telling you about it…!!!!   🙂

Also, I will post the pictures as I go along and not hold back any parts.   I think I will either start on the right or left side and move across the rug.   I’ll try to use this as a “using up leftover woolworms” rug too as Halloween designs are really great for this!

I wanted to do this one because I want to show how my little sketch from years ago could be used to start a rug design, even though the sketch was intended as a “line or paragraph” divider for my long-ago website called “Grinning Cat Primitives”.     I did a lot of Halloween-themed dolls, craft items, etc. at that time and I thought this would be a fun divider to use on my pages for the Halloween Holiday. 

I was sorting through my files of pictures and sketches the other day when I came across this and thought that I could use it as a hooked pillow or hooked sign or banner.   After fiddling with it for a bit and adding the words “Happy Halloween” I thought that I could have a fun rug by adding more to the motifs…and making it a bit bigger!    I cut out shapes using “used” copy paper and moved them around until I had motifs that worked for me.   If you have not used what I call the “Creative Cutting” technique to cut paper shapes, arrange them on your backing and then see what those shapes say to you about a rug design or theme, I encourage you to try it.   I find it great fun!!!!  

So this rug will start after the Holiday and we’ll see if something a simple as a line divider for my old website pages can turn into a Halloween celebration rug!   Happy Canada Day, Happy July 4th, Happy Holiday and Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

JULY4th

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

