New Halloween Rug-2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/using leftover strips/hooked rugs-Day 1

Well here we go on another Hooking adventure!!!   

I started by choosing two incredibly dull medium value wool plaids for upper and lower backgrounds!!!!   (I’m sure I’ve lost some of you right there!!!!)   🙂  

I can use medium values for a background (instead of my usual “dark or light”) because of the bright wild colours I can use on a Halloween rug!   

Next…since this is a rug that is going to use up as many leftover woolworms as possible, I got out my clear boxes of leftover strips and also looked for small pieces of wool to use up.   As I’ve said, a Halloween rug is great for using up leftovers because there are always costumes that bring together lots of garish colours…and it is just fine!  

Of course, hooking a geometric or cat’s paws or circles, etc. will also use up worms and those rugs can be beautiful, but I prefer using them in a rug with motifs I can play with.

When the rug is completed, I will show you the design I started with (before I transferred it to the linen) when planning this piece.   I have tried to find as many bright and garish leftovers as I can as they will show up against that dull background…!!!!    Also, since I am trying to use as many leftovers as possible, I will redesign some things on the rug as I go.

I have decided to go across the rug from left to right on the top first…second, I’ll go across the rug in the middle from any direction…and third, I’ll go across the bottom of the rug from left to right again.     IF we haven’t gone completely nutty by then…the rug will be finished and hopefully look good even while using lots of leftovers!

So here is Progress on Day 1…Of course a Halloween rug has to have a black cat and this grinning cat was the main motif for that long ago website.       🙂

       (I could also have filled in and coloured the sketch and used it as a Header on the website’s main page back then.)

   I will show you the two dull plaids that I am using for the background tomorrow and they are pretty nondescript.   However, since we are making the focus on the motifs, the background just has to show them off!!! 

HALLOday1

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Halloween Rug-2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/using leftover strips/hooked rugs-Day 1”

Leave a Reply

