New Halloween Rug-2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/using leftovers/hooked rugs- Days 14-15

Hooray…I finished my rug today ( most of the hooking!) and didn’t post before because I was so close to the finish.     🙂

While looking through my wool, I found a great orange plaid that worked for a narrow border.

I told you I would show the little drawing that I made so many years ago to use as a divider design on my old website called “Grinning Cat Primitives”.   After I enlarged the small drawing I pinned it to the backing, added a banner idea and cut out paper as a guide to making the full figures!  

I decided that the “Happy Halloween” lettering was to big and drew attention away from the figures.   While I was deciding what to do with the banner, I decided to hand draw the skinny lettering and make it a celebration of all of October with the three friends looking forward to Halloween!  

 

Hallo500

Now you will note that the final rug is a bit different…the figures are adjusted to more easily use wool hooking, not just pen and ink.   Also, my wool choices dictated some of what I did to have the motifs show up against the three dull background wools.  

I just transfer Some of the outlines of the motifs to the backing and fiddle with the designs as I go along.   That is the way I like to work…so I am often surprised with the finished work too!!!!!      🙂

I do have to finish putting in more confetti background in the right top and left bottom of the rug, but that will go pretty fast and I can zip in a Final picture later today or when I am posting the start of my next rug!!!

So here we go on Day 15…I have enjoyed having you along with me on this “using some leftovers” rug.  

Happy Hooking!    Sunnie    🙂

HALLOday14-15

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Halloween Rug-2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/using leftovers/hooked rugs- Days 14-15”

Leave a Reply

