New Mystery Rug-August 2016- “E or R”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs- Introduction

“It was a time when the night was just beginning…And we wondered if what we thought we saw was real.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

And so begins the story of “E or R”…a Mystery!

 

I am almost through with the design drawing on the linen and will take today to prepare the backing for hooking.   

This piece is rather large 39″ x 49″ and it will be hooked in #3, 4, 5 and 6 cuts of wool strips.

  I believe I have decided upon the background but will have to try the two predominant wools out to see if they will work.   One is a blue plaid and the other is a dark blackish wool with traces of deep blue and deep green.   There are hand-dyed blending wools of dark green/black. 

This piece will be a “mystery” to me also because although I have drawn the basic design out, I am already tweaking it and fiddling with it before I have even started the hooking!       🙂

So what this experiment actually looks like when finished is Really a mystery to me…and we’ll see if it works!!!!!    I believe I told you about this way of working when I did the “Painted Mermaid” rug with the creative doodles.   The finished rug did not look much like the design I started with…but it was so much fun to change things as I went along that I decided to try it again!!!!

So I will now get back to work on this so I can start hooking!!!!   Happy Hooking To You…and I hope you will enjoy this journey with me into unknown territory!   Sunnie   🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-August 2016- “E or R”-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs- Introduction”

Leave a Reply

