New Mystery Rug “E or R”-Aug 2016-Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 2

“It was a time of listening to the quiet evening.   And suddenly, patterns of the leaves floated behind our eyes.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

On Day 2, I am adding 2 more background colours to see how they work.   I try to work in an area of about 16 x 16 inches to get a feel for what the entire rug will be.   I can try out backgrounds and other colours and make a judgement as to how to proceed.  

By hooking in this small area, I can pull out anything that does not work or is not pleasing to me.   I try to collect small wool pieces to use up and also I get out my boxes of leftover woolworms.   They come in handy!

Here are the background wool choices plus a border plaid:

backgroundwoolsERplusborderwool

All of these wools read as “darks” (I have a light shining on them for the photo so you can see the colour variations)  and that is important to me.   I realize they might look a bit odd when I show them laid out like this…but you will have to trust me that they will work together!!!!!!!!   (If it works out like I plan…!)     🙂

Also, I have a few other wools I can use if I run out of these background pieces…I always have a “Plan B” standing by!!!!     🙂

Here is Progress on Day 2…I have experimented with a few colours on the leaves and for Day 3, I will add some more colours on other parts of this small “trying out” area.   This gives me a good idea of the “feel” of the rug and how I will develop my theme.

Thank you for visiting and I hope you enjoy this adventure with me!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie    🙂

ERDay2

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

