New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016/ Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 3

“It was a time of thinking that we heard voices.   And then we wondered if they were our own voices carried away on the wind.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

On Day 3 I am adding more colours to get the ideas needed to move forward.   I have decided on medium flower colours…not too bright or “sweet”.   (Now you might be saying to yourself that I am neither “bright” nor “sweet”…but that is another story!!!!!)    🙂

Today, I also divided my background colours into two equal groups.   I will be using these background colours in both the right side and the left side so I want to be sure to have the right amount to do the left side.   This way, if I need to make a change (if I run out of background wools) I can use different darks in the center of the rug.   It will look like I planned it that way and leave me free of worry about having enough wool…!!!!!    I prefer not to worry about anything when I am hooking…and just enjoy the time of creation!

The flowers can be hooked in leftovers and that is always nice to reduce that leftover woolworm bin.   However, if I can’t find the right shades of leftovers, I’ll cut some of my small pieces and use those.

As you know,, if you have followed my rug hooking here before, I hang my “rug-in-progress” piece on a display board so I can sit back and look at it from a distance.   This helps me a lot as sometimes a wonderful colour just doesn’t work with the background or with the other colours I have used.  

I have been asked if I use a colour wheel but that is not necessary for me.   The work I do is always experimentation…so I simply use what is pleasing to me!    None of my work is realistic…maybe just a “suggestion” of realism.   I never really know what the final rug will look like but I never wonder if I will like it or not.   Since I am using designs and colours that I like, I can’t go wrong!!!!!   Of course, like all of you who create, I have my favourites of the work I do.

(Now, if I am trying to do a realistic portrait (like the one of my Dad-my only realistic piece) I would be in an entirely different situation!   And asking for help from time to time too!)   🙂 

So here is Progress on Day 3…I will try another colour for a 3rd flower tomorrow and hope I can use some duller leftovers for that as it is towards the bottom part of the rug.   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie     :)

ERDay3

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-“E or R”-Aug 2016/ Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 3”

Leave a Reply

